We’ve Got The Beet

3 03 2009

Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. 

Remember the last time I cooked beets?  (I know you probably don’t, that’s why I put the link in there.)  Well, I ate them, but the recipe obviously didn’t have me clamoring for more.  And I made no more attempts to cook them until they showed up in my CSA panier a few weeks ago.

Just look at that color!

You see, I really want to like beets, especially this time of year.  They are such a sexy shade of deep red, in striking contrast to the whites and browns of most of Winter’s root vegetables.  So what can I do to make them taste as sexy as they look?  In a word: bacon.  Oh, I threw some chestnuts in there for good measure, and drizzled it all with a little Balsamic vinegar, all of which I’m sure helps the cause, but we all know it’s the smoky, meaty bacon that makes the magic happen.

Love the array of warm colors in this dish!

Balsamic Roasted Beets with Bacon and Chestnuts

 

Here it is – the recipe that finally made me like beets.  

 

3½ oz. / 100 g lardons

2 medium beets, peeled and diced into ½ inch (13 mm) cubes

4½ oz. / 130 g roasted, peeled chestnuts, roughly chopped

1 shallot, thinly sliced (optional)

Leaves from 2 sprigs of fresh thyme

Olive oil

Coarse sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Balsamic vinegar

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 F / 190 C.
  2. Place the lardons in a small saucepan and cover with cold water.  Place over medium heat and bring up to a simmer.  Remove from heat and drain.
  3. Combine the beet cubes, blanched lardons, chestnuts, shallot (if using) and thyme on a foil-lined baking sheet.  Season with salt and pepper and splash a little olive oil on top.  Stir to coat.
  4. Roast 20 minutes.  Remove the pan from the oven, drizzle the beets with a little balsamic vinegar, stir to redistribute, and roast for another 20 minutes, or until beets are tender.  Serve hot.

 

Serves 2 as a side dish.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.


Actions

Information

5 responses

4 03 2009
jodycakes

Love the post title…that made me giggle.
Do you ever use yellow/golden beets? Do you find they taste any different?
I have discovered “real” beets as opposed to those out of the can from a million Thanksgivings ago…AWESOME recipe

4 03 2009
Colleen

Bacon = incredibly sexy. Nice work.

5 03 2009
Hopie

And it worked?? You like them?? Because we even got a double panier last week because we were away the week before, which meant in insanely disturbing amount of beets, which neither D. or I particularly like. On the other hand, I can see bacon making almost anything edible 😉

5 03 2009
croquecamille

Jody – Glad you liked it! 🙂 I have found yellow beets to be a little milder – as well as other colors like candy-stripe (so pretty!) and white (which I accidentally cooked at Christmas, believing it to be a turnip!).

Colleen – I knew you’d approve.

Hopie – Yes, it actually worked! I highly recommend you try this with your surplus of beets and let me know what you think. It was super easy, too (especially since I used pre-cooked and peeled chestnuts froma jar!).

5 03 2009
Sam

I’m not that keen on beets either, maybe this is the recipe that will convert me. I hope say because we keep getting them in our veg box too!