Vins d’Alsace

1 03 2009

I know it’s March now, but since it’s such a long month, and February is so short, I’m sure March won’t mind if we borrow a day to talk about Alsatian wines.  It just seems ignorant to spend a month writing about Alsace without dedicating a post to the wines of the region – besides, they are some of my very favorite white wines.

The holy trinity of Alsatian wine: Riesling, Gewurtztraminer, and Sylvaner

The wines of Alsace are notable among French wines in that they almost always list the grape varietal on the bottle.  (Many French wines are blends.)  The grapes used are also much more common in German winemaking than in French.  While their German counterparts tend to be quite sweet, Alsatian wines are usually vinified dry, clearing the path to better appreciation of the subtle flavors of the grapes and the mineral qualities of the terroir.  They also have a distinct, elongated bottle silhouette, which strikes me as elegant.  Regal, even.  In fact, in my now-infamous wine bottle manger scene of Christmas 2000, bottles from Alsace played the three wise men.  (The animals were represented by stumpy Côtes du Rhône bottles; Mary and Joseph were a feminine Bourgogne and a somber Bordeaux, respectively; and Baby Jesus took the form of a tiny bottle of Kronenbourg.  If I had the wherewithal to upload 8 year old film photos that are currently in storage in the US, I would totally share that one here.)

Anyway, the wines of Alsace are perfectly suited to the cuisine of the region – their mild sweetness and citrusy or tropical fruit overtones balance the hearty fare with aplomb.  But they also happen to pair quite well with spicy food, especially dishes from and inspired by Southeast Asia.  And let’s not forget the apéritif!  In fact, I think I’ll uncork one right now.

Yeah, it's a little early, but hey, it's Sunday.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.


Actions

Information

5 responses

1 03 2009
chezchristineo

Salut! Your blog is just what I’m looking for. Happy to find you! I’ll be exploring Biarritz and the Eastern Loire this summer, as well as two weeks in Paris…… Any recommends for Biarritz, wines, specialities?

1 03 2009
Natalie MacLean

Great blog Camille! I’d love to hear your suggestions for Alsatian wine and food pairings for my online matching tool about half way down on my homepage:

http://www.nataliemaclean.com

Cheers,
Natalie

Nat Decants Wine Newsletter

Author of Red, White and Drunk All Over

3 03 2009
Colleen

I love the image in my head of your 2000 nativity scene- it actually made me laugh out loud. Ah, I can’t WAIT to be able to imbibe freely again…and to see you guys in June!

3 03 2009
onlinepastrychef

I do enjoy a nice, crisp wine from Alsace:) It is amazing to me that the Germans and the French do such different things with the same grapes!

3 03 2009
croquecamille

chezchristineo – Sorry, I haven’t been to Biarritz… yet. 😉 Sounds like a great trip!

Natalie – Thank you! I’d be happy to contribute, though I may not get around to it until this weekend.

Colleen – The memory certainly brought a smile to my face, too. Can’t wait to see you guys either!

onlinepastrychef – I know! The grape is a versatile little fruit, I guess – and there’s so much I don’t know about winemaking. 😉




