Kir Bourguignon

9 10 2009

I know you’ve all been wondering when I was going to announce the French Region for October.  (Actually, I know you haven’t.  Statistics show that these “Regional French” posts are some of the least visited on this site.  And yet, some of the most searched… hmmm.)  At any rate, this is a region I’ve had planned since the beginning, and one I’m very excited about: Burgundy.  Bourgogne to the French.  I will be using the terms interchangeably.  Some of my favorite wines and cheeses in all of France come from Burgundy, not to mention some of the dishes that are inextricably linked with Classic French Cuisine, such as Boeuf Bourguignonne, Coq au Vin, and escargots.  (Let’s not forget gougères are also a Bourguignonne specialty.)  My trip is planned, and in honor of Dijon, whe’re I’m headed for a weekend, as well as in honor of Friday, I present to you Kir.

Kir by candlelight

Kir, a classic French apéritif, was invented by Félix Kir, a former mayor of Dijon (who I can’t stop imagining as the Bud Clark of France).  Cassis, aka blackcurrants, grow very well in Burgundy, so naturally the wine-loving populace came up with a way to make them alcoholic.  By soaking fresh cassis berries in alcohol, they extract a sweet liqueur heady with the aromas of the ripe fruit.  As the story goes, the drink was invented to make less-awesome white wine more drinkable by mixing it with one third crème de cassis.  And believe me, it does.  Cheers!

Originally published on Croque-Camille.


Actions

Information

9 responses

9 10 2009
French reader

I skim through your blog occasionally and sometimes enjoy reading your entries, even if you do take sly digs at how differently (i.e. incorrectly in your view) the way the French do or say things.
I would enjoy it more if you made the effort to spell French correctly (spell-checker anyone?) and use the right expression.
It’s either “Kir bourguignon” or “à la bourguignonne”.

Cordialement,

9 10 2009
croquecamille

French reader – Thanks for the heads up, I’ve corrected the noted errors.

9 10 2009
French reader

You’re welcome 🙂

9 10 2009
hungry dog

Just sent some blog love your way over at the Hungry Dog… 🙂

10 10 2009
Hopie

My mother sent me this quote the other day, so I’m sharing:

“Burgundy makes you think of silly things, bordeaux makes you talk of them and champagne makes you do them.” – Jean-Anthelme Brillat-Savarin

12 10 2009
croquecamille

hungry dog – Thank you! I’ll check it out immediately!

Hopie – Love it! (And so true…)

13 10 2009
Kate

Wow! This brought me back to my trip to Bourgogne. I loved the food, the wine and the Kir. Thank for letting me know its origins.

13 10 2009
croquecamille

Kate – You’re welcome! We had a great time in Dijon last weekend, and I agree – loved the food and wine! 🙂

24 12 2009
Félix Kir : informations, photos, carte, vue satellite

[…] nom. Après des études au séminaire, il fut ordonné prêtre en 1901 et fut notamment curé à …Kir Bourguignon « Croque-CamilleKir, a classic French apéritif, was invented by Félix Kir, a former mayor of Dijon (who I can't […]