Talented and Gifted (TAG)

11 11 2009

I have a bad habit of letting recognition from my fellow bloggers go unacknowledged for way too long.  I do really appreciate the mentions and links, I just have a hard time working them into my regular posts.  But let enough of them pile up, and boom!  Instant post!  Perfect for those unexpected days off work when you planned to get a lot of work done but instead spent the afternoon playing video games.  (Being a grown-up is sometimes every bit as awesome as I thought it would be.)

Without further ado, the first/longest-neglected award in my collection:

Thanks, Jenni!

I have Jenni of Pastry Methods and Techniques to thank for this one.  If you are as-yet unfamiliar with her blog, I highly recommend checking it out as it is both Informative and Hilarious. 

The Zombie Chicken Award is given to “the blogger who believes in the Tao of the zombie chicken– excellence, grace, and persistence in all situations, even in the midst of a zombie apocalypse. These amazing bloggers regularly produce content so remarkable that their readers would brave a raving pack of zombie chickens just to be able to read their inspiring words.” 

I’m flattered, and I hope it never comes to that.  But if it does, I know just the guy to take care of all those zombie chickens, by way of grill, oven, or cast-iron skillet: Ryan, of Nose to Tail at Home.  (Technically, the rules say five winners or I suffer a horrible death at the hands/beaks of a horde of zombie chickens, but Jenni ignored the rules and she’s still around, so I’m going to take my chances.)  Back to Ryan, he’s cooking his way through Fergus Henderson’s now-classic Nose to Tail Eating.  It’s a wild ride.

Next up, Hungry Dog gave me the One Lovely Blog Award.  The award exists to spread the love for favorite blogs, especially new or new-to-you ones.  I admit I haven’t been adding many blogs to my already too-long reading list of late (other than Hungry Dog, which is an enjoyable, relatable read by a girl who “lives in San Francisco at the top of a hill”).  But my friend Lissa has finally started writing the blog she’s been talking about since moving to Paris a year ago, so I’d like to pass this award along to her, at Researching Paris.

Finally, Jennifer (aka Loulou) has made me a “victim” of the Kreativ Blogger Award.  The rules for this one are as follows: write seven random/interesting things about yourself and coerce seven others to share their quirks and secrets with us.  Here goes:

  • I am a night person.  (How I ended up in an early-morning industry is a mystery.)
  • I was a total Beatlemaniac in high school… in the ’90’s.
  • I just read Rant by Chuck Palahniuk (hometown hero) and can’t stop thinking about it.
  • I won’t eat canned peaches or green beans, but I will eat canned pears or corn.
  • Cheap, poor quality chocolate makes me angry.
  • In the winter, I hang my socks on the towel warmer while I shower.  Warm toes make me happy.
  • I am completely overthinking this.

And the  seven: Jenni, Hungry Dog, Hope, Andrea, Ken, Jeanne, and Hails.

Thanks again to all who tagged me!

Originally published on Croque-Camille.


Actions

Information

7 responses

12 11 2009
Ryan

I’m blushing over here! Thank you very much for the kind words, Camille. I hope I can live up to the high standards that award demands. I know one thing is for sure – I really need to start posting more!

Thank you!

12 11 2009
hungry dog

Thanks for your kind words! I always like to learn about new (to me) blogs, so will be checking out your recommendations. For the record, I think warming your socks on the towel warmer is a fabulous idea–I only wish I had a towel warmer.

13 11 2009
croquecamille

Ryan – You’re welcome!

hungry dog – The towel warmer is pretty much standard in French apartments. And one of my favorite features. 🙂

19 11 2009
Loulou

Warm toes make me happy too.

20 11 2009
The Gypsy Chef

I only just heard of your blog through the Hungry Dog. After reading this post, I look forward to reading more! By the way, I put my socks and PJ’s on the radiator.

24 11 2009
croquecamille

Loulou – Maybe it’s a PNW thing…

Gypsy Chef – Thanks! I guess great minds think alike!

2 12 2009
Lissa

Thank you Camille! Now I actually have to get back to writing 🙂 And, really, canned corn is the only solution 10 months of the year… and is delicious.