Potatoes or Green Beans?

23 07 2009

Does this ever happen to you?  You’re going through your workday, thinking about dinner, picturing the oven fried fish and homemade tartar sauce you have planned, but when it comes to the side dish, you’re stumped.  On one hand, you have some lovely little haricots verts rapidly going south in the fridge, and on the other, you have some freshly dug new potatoes doing the same in the cupboard.  A quick green bean sauté sounds easy and virtuous, but maybe steamed potatoes in an herby vinaigrette would be better.  You remember that there are no fresh herbs in your kitchen, but now you really want those potatoes.  It would really be a shame to see those green beans go to waste.  Potatoes or green beans?  Green beans or potatoes?

What if...?

So there I was, with the great potatoes-or-green beans debate waging on in my head, when lunchtime rolls around.  After the 10 minutes it takes me to eat my sandwich, I have the better part of an hour to kill.  I decide to check my email on my phone (ah, the wonders of technology!) and lo and behold, a friend has sent me a link for a peach pie recipe from Smitten Kitchen.  I’m sure it was mouthwatering, but what immediately caught my attention was the link at the top of the page to the previous recipe, entitled, “arugula, potato and green bean salad.”  Wait!  Of course!  I can use both!  Why didn’t I think of that before?  I loved the idea of a yogurt-based dressing – it sounded so fresh and healthy (which is good, seeing as I’m still struggling a bit with that vacation weight), as well as creamy, tangy, and malleable to my palate’s desires.  And what my palate desired was tarragon.  I remembered it working so well with the yogurt in my French coleslaw recipe, and fortunately, I almost always have tarragon vinegarin the cupboard.  Yay!  With some shallots, Dijon mustard, and hazelnut oil, maybe some toasted almonds… can you tell I was getting excited?  After work I hurried home to get cooking. 

It looks like mayo, but brother, it ain't mayo.

The resulting salad was just what I was looking for.  I am absolutely making this one again.  Repeatedly.

French Potato and Green Bean Salad 

Never again succumb to the starch-or-vegetable dilemma!  This salad marries them beautifully.  The yogurty dressing looks rich, but tastes light – an excellent summer side dish.  As for the title, something about the combination of tarragon and nuts strikes me as so French.

For the dressing:

125 g / 4½ oz. plain yogurt
1 medium shallot, minced
2 Tbsp. tarragon vinegar
1 tsp. Dijon mustard
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 Tbsp. + 1 tsp. hazelnut oil

  1. Combine the yogurt, shallot, vinegar, and mustard in a small bowl.  Whisk in the oil and season to taste.

For the salad:

200 g / 7 oz. haricots verts (or thin green beans), washed and broken in half if long
360 g / 13 oz. small, waxy potatoes, scrubbed and sliced into rounds 65 mm / ¼” thick
50 g / ½ cup sliced almonds, toasted (optional)

  1. Bring a pot of salted water to a boil over high heat.  Place the green beans in a strainer or pasta insert and cook 2-3 minutes, until bright green and crisp tender.  Remove them from the pot and give them a quick rinse in cold water to stop the cooking.  Drain.  (You may need to do this in two batches if your strainer is small like mine.)
  2. Add the potatoes to the pot, return to a boil, and reduce heat to medium.  Simmer potatoes until tender, about 10 minutes.  Drain.  (No need to save the water this time.)
  3. Transfer the hot potatoes to a salad bowl and toss with the green beans and the dressing.  Allow the flavors to meld for at least 20 minutes.  Just before serving, sprinkle in the almonds and stir to distribute.  Serve at room temperature.

Serves 3 as a side dish.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.


Actions

Information

8 responses

23 07 2009
Morisseau

oh, bully — I’ve been dying to use up all that Tarragon Vinegar I have lying around.

24 07 2009
Jessica

The dressing sounds delicious! I have fresh tarragon so I can try and make a version with that. How I love potatoes in a creamy dressing!

24 07 2009
Hopie

I love yogurt-based dressings too. They give you that creaminess while staying fresh and healthy 🙂

24 07 2009
Lissa

Delicious! I’ve been eyeing all of Smitten’s salads this summer. They look so light and tasty – but glad to get confirmation from you! Although I am hoping that you’ll return to the peach pie eventually… 🙂

24 07 2009
Sam

That’s brilliant! To be honest I hardly ever give side dishes much thought, I just do a few simply prepared vegetables. This sounds so much tastier and more interesting, I love the dressing especially.

26 07 2009
croquecamille

Morisseau – I’m always on the lookout for ways to use mine.

Jessica – I would have used fresh tarragon, too, if I had any.

Hopie – I know! Let’s hear it for yogurt!

Lissa – I really should, It would be the perfect excuse to buy one of those pretty pie dishes I’ve been coveting…

Sam – Thank you! The best part is that it really doesn’t take any more time than boiling the potatoes would.

27 07 2009
Joanna in the kitchen

I love green beans I love potatoes so this looks like a perfect combination of the two 🙂

27 07 2009
croquecamille

Joanna – I highly recommend it. Feel free to experiment with the seasonings, too. I did a Provençal version over the weekend with tomatoes and herbes de provence, which was a big hit!