Welcome to my New Kitchen

6 07 2010

Obviously, I’ve been cooking.  And it’s high time I delivered on my promise to give you a tour of the new digs.  The photos have joined the Flickr set, and you can go there to see them with detailed notes.  Alternatively, you can click each individual picture to see it up close.  So without further ado…

The view of the kitchen from the living room. Note the awesome hugeness of the fridge.

The oven rocks, but the stove sucks the life out of me. Induction schminduction. Sure it boils water in record time, but what good is that if I can't cook my eggs at the same time as the coffee? My rice at the same time as my steak? None, I tell you.

Besides the stove, I also really hate the sink. It's too small, hence impossible to wash dishes without splashing all over the nice wood countertop. I'm really glad we put in the knife magnet, though. Love that thing.

We put these shelves in on the kitchen side of the bar, because otherwise, we would have nowhere to store food. How I miss my root cellar.

Of course, we had to find a place for the cookbooks and liquor.

In retrospect, I really wish we’d gotten a before picture of this kitchen, because after several weekends spent measuring, shopping, transporting, and installing, it’s a completely different workspace.  It went from bachelor pad to pastry chef-avid home cook-food blogger’s haven.  Just imagine it with a tiny fridge where the oven is, no shelves, no spice racks, no hanging bars or hooks, and half-unpacked boxes everywhere.  We’d love to replace the sink and get a real, 4-burner gas stove, but as we’re probably only going to be living here another year, and the landlords refuse to pay for any improvements, it’s not worth the hassle.

So there it is, my new laboratory.  The increased counter space, bigger oven, and better fridge almost make up for the stove, sink, and storage frustrations.  I’ve been trying to focus on those positives, and so far, this new kitchen is serving me pretty well.

On this day in 2009: Eat Like an American.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

