Still Life with Tags

6 11 2008

I have once again been stockpiling tags and awards.  Considering I am taking it easy this evening after a spill down the stairs at work this afternoon (don’t worry, most of the truffles I was carrying escaped unscathed) I figured now was a good time to spread the love around.  (As opposed to my normal physically taxing blog posts…)

First, the most beautiful.  K from she eats has tagged me with another photo mosaic meme, this one entirely food-related.

Just as a reminder, the rules are as follows (of course, if you’re anything like me, you’ll keep typing in different answers until you find a photo that grabs you):

  • Type your answer to the questions into Flickr search
  • Using only the first page of results, pick an image
  • Copy and paste each of the URLs in the Mosaic Maker

The Questions:

  1. What is your favorite restaurant?
  2. What is your favorite type of cuisine?
  3. What is your favorite comfort food?
  4. What is your favorite childhood food?
  5. What is your favorite dish to prepare for company?
  6. What is your favorite wine?
  7. Who is your favorite chef?
  8. What is your least favorite food?
  9. What is the most adventurous food you’ve eaten?

The Mosaic:

Food Photo Mosaic
1. Iris : la nymphe messagère, 2. technicolor bois de boulogne in Paris🙂, 3. dinner, 4. dim sum – 2, 5. WHERE IS THE SUN?, 6. Du soleil dans les pales, 7. Along the Seine near Ille de Cite’, 8. Bell Peppers, 9. Sea Snail Trail in Sand, Shi Shi Beach, Olympic National Park

I would love to see the photo mosaics of any and all of my readers, so let me knowif you decide to do one!

* * *

Next, the seemingly-simplest-but-in-reality-most-challenging.  Loulou of Chez Loulou wants to know 6 random thingsabout me.  Naturally, about four of these have been completely overthought and two are going to be made up on the spot.  I’ll leave it to you to guess which is which.

1. The top three places I want to visit these days are St. Petersburg, Russia; Istanbul, Turkey; and Carthage, Tunisia.
2. Celebrities I have randomly seen in bars include Matthew Lillard, Vince Vaughn, and the guy who played Fez on That 70’s Show.  Celebrities I have met and shaken hands with include Martha Stewart, Wolfgang Puck, Elie Wiesel, and George Lucas.  Celebrities I have met and held actual conversations with include Tom Selleck, Dave Barry, Trevor Nunn, Amy Tan, Jeff Corwin, and (of course) David Lebovitz.  Rumor has it that Mathieu Amalric lives in the same apartment complex as I do.

3. I often fall asleep on the couch while watching TV after dinner.

4. For a long time, I wasn’t a major chocolate fan.  Sure, I liked it, but I would seriously debate vanilla ice cream (and choose it more often than not) and am still prone to choosing caramel and/or fruit-based desserts.  It’s not that I don’t like chocolate, not by a long shot.  But I have realized in the last couple of years that ultra high-end, artisan chocolate is rich, nuanced, and completely crave-worthy.  Now I order chocolate desserts and tend to be let down when they’re made with ordinary chocolate.  The curse of being a chocolate snob.

5. If I were a casting director for a movie about Wilco (quite possibly the world’s greatest band) I would cast Jason Bateman as Jeff Tweedy.

6. I am married to my best friend in the world, and that makes me feel lucky every day.

Of course, this one has rules, too:

1. Link to the person who tagged you.
2. Post the rules on your blog.
3. Write six random things about yourself.
4. Tag six people at the end of your post and link to them.
5. Let each person know they’ve been tagged and leave a comment on their blog.
6. Let the tagger know when your entry is up.

I’m tagging Gloria, Sam, The lovely ladies at Where’s My Damn Answer, Hails, nererue, and K, who will probably only do it if I say to make the answers in the form of a photo mosaic.

Finally, an award:

Gloria at Cookbook Cuisine has chosen me to receive the Montgomery Burns Award for Outstanding Achievemant in the Field of Excellence!  Ok, maybe not, but she has rated my blog E for Excellent, which is very sweet of her.

Thanks, Gloria!

I am passing this on to one old favorite, Hopie’s Kitchen, and one new favorite, Apples and Butter.  And if either of you want to play along with the other tags here, you’re totally invited.

Ready or not, here I come!  (Wait, that’s Hide and Seek.  Never mind.)


Actions

Information

11 responses

6 11 2008
Sam

Thanks for the tag! I’ll get thinking and see what I can come up with.

6 11 2008
gloriachadwick

Sounds like fun. Let’s see, six random things about me that I’m willing to share… Hmm. Will have to give it some thought because the first six things that come to mind are pretty boring.🙂

6 11 2008
Hopie

Thanks for the award! I’ve been getting pretty behind on posting stuff these days too…

7 11 2008
Cathy - wheresmydamnanswer

Hey There
Thanks for the tag… Will get thinking and working on it!!!

Cheers
Happy Friday
Cathy

8 11 2008
jodycakes

Hi there, Camille~
I will confer with the gang and we’ll get this posted…I’m doing something EXTREMELY RANDOM today…so perhaps I should post that?

Hee hee hee…have a fantastic weekend.
Jody

9 11 2008
Betty C.

This looks fun. Tagged or not, I have put it on my list of blogging stuff to do.

10 11 2008
Sam

The tag’s done! come take a look.

10 11 2008
croquecamille

Betty – of course, all are welcome to play. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

12 11 2008
Trisha

Jason Bateman as Jeff Tweedy! Yes! That’s awesome.

13 11 2008
croquecamille

Yay! So glad someone else likes the idea. 🙂

15 11 2008
Laquet

I’ll be doing the mosaic – probably for Monday … it’s so going to help me with NaBloPoMo




