Easy Cheesy

27 02 2013

Like we did last year, Nick and I have again given up cooking meat at home for Lent.  Since all Catholics know that fish isn’t meat, our omega-3 levels are rising as we incorporate more fish into our diet.  But what is a meatless couple supposed to do with a jar of homemade olive salad, leftover from a Mardi Gras party?  In a flash of brilliance it hit me.

before the oozing mess

Olive salad tuna melts!  I ran to the shop downstairs for supplies, picking up cans of tuna, two kinds of cheese (emmenthal and mozzarella) and Poilâne bread.  The beauty of using olive salad in your tuna is that you don’t even need to chop an onion, and you can use a lot less mayonnaise than usual.  I made these twice last week, and I expect to see them on the regular weeknight rotation for a while.  But truly, I would eat this no matter the dietary restriction, because a hot, crunchy, melty sandwich with tangy, savory bits of olive inside appeals year-round.

On this day in 2008: Fauchon, or, I May Have a Problem

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

9 responses

27 02 2013
Hannah

This sounds wonderful because, well, hello, olives, but what on earth is olive salad in a jar?

27 02 2013
researchingsandiego

Delicious! And, yes – like Hannah, I want to know more about the olive salad – please?

28 02 2013
Ann

Yum! Me, too, I need to know more about olive salad! Is it philistine to say that my favorite tuna melts are made with American cheese? Extra salty!

28 02 2013
croquecamille

Wow, I had no idea olive salad was so esoteric! Having looked into it, I guess it’s pretty specific to New Orleans, specifically as part of a muffuletta sandwich. It’s probably based in Italian or Sicilian cuisine, though surely somewhat bastardized in coming to America.

Here’s a recipe that looks pretty good, and close to what I’ve currently got in the fridge, which was made by a friend.

1 03 2013
hungry dog

Olive salad, I love this idea! I’ll try making it, I think. And one of my regrets from our last trip to Paris is not making it to Poilane (especially after reading the article about the family in the New Yorker a little while ago.) Your sandwich–bread and all–sounds divine.

6 03 2013
Inger Wilkerson

Olives are truly one of life’s special joys! Thanks for passing along the recipe link!

6 03 2013
croquecamille

hungry dog – I guess you’ll just have to come back. :)

Inger – You’re welcome!

7 03 2013
Jessica

Yumm!! I miss making/eating tartines on Poilane bread!!

11 03 2013
croquecamille

Jessica – I am seriously going to miss the bread when we eventually leave France.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

