Mustard in the Custard

2 05 2011

Longtime readers of this blog may remember my penchant for making breakfast strata on Easter.  And other times.  This year was no different.  Again looking to the contents of my fridge for inspiration, ham and cheddar sounded like a delightfully sandwich-y take on the strata.

Speaking of sandwiches, wouldn’t a little mustard be the perfect spice for eggy brunch sandwiches?  Monte Cristo breakfast casserole?  Ok, none of that sounds appetizing.  Let’s just say I put the mustard in the custard and get on with it.

mustard in the custard!

Layers: bread, caramelized onions (I seem to be incapable of making a strata without them), strips of ham, shredded Tillamook cheddar.  Repeat, finish with bread.  Custard: four eggs, two cups of milk, salt, pepper, a big spoonful each of grainy mustard and Dijon, and a few dashes of Tabasco sauce. Let it soak for at least half an hour, bake at 350F for an hour or so, and eat.  Champagne and Bloody Marys make perfect accompaniments.  I probably don’t need to tell you this, but it was so good.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

21 responses

3 05 2011
Michel

Sounds delicious. Do you find Tillamook cheddar cheese in Paris?

3 05 2011
Nanan

That looks totally delish! And no cheddar is better than Tillamook cheddar! Hope the new place is feeling homey and cosy! Looks like it is condusive to good food already!

3 05 2011
Hannah

Is it weird that I just started imagining this with pate instead of ham inside? I wonder if that would even work… savoury savoury goodness…

3 05 2011
hungry dog

Sounds –and looks-fabulous!

3 05 2011
Jenni

I’m a little concerned about your over-use of caramelized onions…Oh, wait! There is no such thing; caramelized onions are Amazing! =D

4 05 2011
The Mistress of Spices

Sounds delicious! I love stratas too. Great idea to add caramelized onion. Where did you find Tillamook cheddar???

4 05 2011
Joe

I a just wondering how to get that 3 layers into the mouth.

4 05 2011
croquecamille

Michel – No, I get it hand-imported by friends and family. :)

Nanan – Actually, I’m still waiting on the new place – we’re in a vacation rental until the work is finished in the kitchen!

Hannah – I might leave out the cheese, or use a different one, but I don;t see why pâté couldn’t work…

hungry dog – Thanks!

Jenni – Overuse? I don’t understand… ;)

Mistress of Spices – My husband brought it back after his last trip to the States.

Joe – Well, it’s soft… :)

6 05 2011
mikemayos

Tillabrook cheddar? Never heard of it – would Monterey do?

7 05 2011
emiglia

There’s a reason why you can’t make strata without caramelized onions… it’s because they’re amazing. This looks delicious… and I’m jealous of your cheddar importation :)

8 05 2011
croquecamille

mikemayos – Tillamook. It’s from Oregon. Is there a Monterey cheddar? If so, it’s my turn to say I never heard of it.

emiglia – Yeah, caramelized onions make everything better. Thanks!

13 05 2011
Mary

Tillamook cheddar is awesome! But other cheddars should work well. Have never made a strata, but have made a Monte Cristo – love those!

14 05 2011
croquecamille

Mary – You should definitely try making a strata. It’s one of my favorite brunch dishes.

14 05 2011
Tammy McLeod

Sounds like a perfect brunch. Might add a dash of hot sauce to that mustardy flavor.

16 05 2011
croquecamille

Tammy – Me, too, I almost always include Tabasco in my strata custard.

18 05 2011
Inger Wilkerson

This looks delicious! My kids have complained about the stratas I’ve tried but I think this would go over with them. Thanks!

19 05 2011
croquecamille

Inger – It’s my pleasure! I hope they love it!

20 05 2011
Rochelle

The sandwich looks/sounds delicious, but I have the same question as many… How did you ever get a hold of my beloved Tillamook Cheddar in Paris? I haven’t been able to get my hands on any since I moved outta the states 4 years ago and thanks to you saying you got some, I have a serious craving!

20 05 2011
croquecamille

Rochelle – I get people to bring it to me from home.

3 07 2011
Kevin

I must have led a sheltered life. Never heard of a strata until now. Made one. Loved it and wonder where it has been all my life. Thank you for widening my horizons.

5 07 2011
croquecamille

Kevin – You are very welcome! I hope you make many more!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

