Choucroute, Simplified

12 03 2011

It’s no secret that I love me some choucroute garnie.  Sometimes, though, the laundry list of pork products required to make it feels both too heavy to eat and too time-consuming to make.  So I cheat: I braise some red cabbage with smoky sausage and call it dinner.

It starts like this...

I’ve written up my recipe for this shortcut choucroute, which is a favorite in my kitchen for busy weeknights when I still want something hearty.  Check it out on Girls’ Guide to Paris.

On this day in 2009: Rendez-Vous Bars (a recipe for one of my favorite treats)

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

11 responses

13 03 2011
Hannah

I wonder if I could get away with red cabbage and kangaroo sausage? (The latter of which are called, hand over heart, “kanga bangas”.)

13 03 2011
Betty C.

Looks like a great idea. I also love choucroute but absolutely never make it. This will have to be a recipe for a time when the daughters aren’t around, though…that’s definitely something they don’t care for.

13 03 2011
Ann

My mouth is watering, Camille! I never thought I’d say this, but I’m always looking for new ways to cook cabbage now that it’s one of three vegetable choices at the market these days!

13 03 2011
croquecamille

Hannah – That’s hilarious! And I bet that would totally work, especially if it’s a smoked sausage. Er, I mean “kanga banga.”

Betty – Their loss! :)

Ann – So glad to help!

13 03 2011
Louise

This sounds delicious. I enjoy red cabbage, and am always trying to find ways to get the family to eat it.

14 03 2011
Jessica

I love shortcuts!! Cabbage isn’t a really popular veggie, but I actually really like it! If cooked well, there’s a sweetness that comes through.

14 03 2011
hungry dog

Mm, I love cabbage and apples together (and of course, sausage). Great picture here by the way! Very artsy.

14 03 2011
erin

This is so timely: I have been pining for choucroute AND have a red cabbage that needs to be addressed sooner rather than later. Thanks!

15 03 2011
croquecamille

Louise – I suspect this will work. ;)

Jessica – I really like it, too.

hungry dog – Thank you! I just loved the color of the cabbage and the stripes that appeared when I cut it.

erin – You are very welcome! Let me know how it goes.

29 03 2011
Monique

Love your blog, and being that I am married to a Frenchie who loves Choucroute, we make it often, I am glad to see a post about it.

Since you love French food I thought you might be interested in an amazing culinary tour to France throughout the Loire Valley.
There is one coming up in June, it is an incredible tour.

30 03 2011
croquecamille

Monique – I like to think the healthfulness of the cabbage cancels out the sausage. :) Thanks for the link, sounds like fun!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

