They Grow Up So Fast…

18 02 2011

Today is the third anniversary of this blog’s coming into existence.  As has become the tradition, I’ll revisit the highlights of the past year, month by month.

February 2010: Was it really only a year ago that I got an ice cream maker for my birthday?  That’s given rise to several tasty recipes this year.  But my favorite post of the month is one where I didn’t follow any recipe, winging it on a loaf of bread and expounding on the reasons I cook.

March 2010: I had a week off, and ate my way through several of Paris’ arrondissements.  I made corndogs from scratch for Nick’s birthday, and when I got stressed out looking for a new apartment, I made apple pie.

April 2010: Ah, the month we moved.  I kissed my old apartment goodbye and with it, my internet access.  I did manage to write about Fribourg d’Alpage, a truly fantastic cheese I found at the cheese festival in Coulommiers.

May 2010: May is undoubtedly the month of long weekends.  I made the most of the one I got, joining Nick and his colleagues on a short trip to La Rochelle on the West coast of France.  We ate a fabulous meal there at Les Flots, and it really felt like a vacation.

June 2010: I spent much of June testing recipes for Hope and D.’s wedding cupcakes.  The best thing to come out of all that (apart from the happy union of two good friends) was this recipe for chocolate-hazelnut financier cupcakes.

July 2010: This summer was neither long nor warm, but I still had a lot of fun getting to know my new neighborhood.  One of my favorite features is the fromagerie-caviste-boulangerie-pâtisserie-traiteur juggernaut that is Julhès.

August 2010: Like the rest of Paris, Nick and I went on vacation for most of August.  I cooked my way around the States, making wedding cupcakes in Massachusetts, raja green beans in Nevada,  and lavender-mint chip ice cream in California.

September 2010: I recapped my eating adventures over the vacation, entered Project Food Blog, and nearly died (not really) in a bee attack.

October 2010: Football season got into full swing, and with it, my weekend baking habits and beer consumption.  Speaking of beer, I tasted my very favorite French beer so far: Agent Provocateur.

November 2010: We took an excellent day trip to Chartres, but if there’s one food adventure from November that is going to stick with me, it’s Le Bistrot des Soupirs.  I want to go there all the time.

December 2010: The highlight of December was without a doubt our trip to Lisbon, Portugal.  I continue to dream about those pastéis de Belém.

January 2011: What did I do last month? From the looks of it, I ate cheese, Chinese noodles, and things I baked at home.  How have I already forgotten about my rediscovery of rugelah?

And there you have it.  Another great year of food, travel, and more food.  Many thanks go out to all of my readers, new and old.  I love it that you come and visit me here in my little corner of the blog world, and your comments encourage me more than you know.  I can’t wait to see what awaits me in my fourth year of writing Croque-Camille, and I hope you’ll all stick around to see where 2011 takes us.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

17 responses

18 02 2011
Anne

Congrats and keep ‘em coming.

18 02 2011
TSGordon

The mark of a great writer is often his/HER ability to lead us down the garden path… Here, I thought you had come up with ‘the,’ (as in, this is not remotely ‘second-best,’) the truly ultimate way to make sure that our FRENCH CROISSANTS will rise and rise, and rise and RISE!…

Now, after that, I want to see six-foot croissants! And I am not sleeping on this idea before going public. I’ll use this in my Menu (or on the sign out front, ..or my next post, if nothing else!)

Diary, hummm, :)-

19 02 2011
Hannah

Happy blog birthday!! But, hmm, wasn’t there something else that happened in early 2010 that was rather noteworthy? ;) Ah, but I guess I can forgive you, as it was I who blogged about us ;)

I still dream about that lavendar mint ice cream you had, by the by. And all the cheeses…

24 02 2011
croquecamille

Hannah my dear, if I neglected to mention that we met early this year, it’s only because it feels like we’ve been friends for years. :)

25 02 2011
Hannah

Oh-ho, that was SUCH a save, my dear! Heart! :D

19 02 2011
hungry dog

Happy anniversary! I love your blog and am so happy to have found it. Can’t wait to see what you do in Year 4!

19 02 2011
Betty C.

Happy bloggiversary…”only” 3 years? You have done very well…blog on!

BTW, I have wiped all blog slates clean and have a new blog; address above. No real focus, which may be a weak point, but I had been there and done that.

20 02 2011
Michel

Congratulations on your 3 year blog anniversary! I truly enjoy your tales and information you provide in your blog and look forward to each one. Keep up the great work.

20 02 2011
Tammy McLeod

Happy blog birthday. That’s impressive. I enjoy your site and will keep coming back.

21 02 2011
Fiona at Life on Nanchang Lu

Happy third Birthday Camille! What a feat! And so nice to look back on all that good food and drink too…

22 02 2011
Grapefruit

Happy Anniversary! I’m happy to have stumbled upon your blog when I did!

22 02 2011
Ann

Happy blog birthday, Camille! Here’s to many, many happy returns. I can’t wait to see what’s next!

23 02 2011
Inger Wilkerson

Happy anniversay. I just browsed through some of your wonderful pictures and I think I’m going to have to go cheese shopping tomorrow!

24 02 2011
croquecamille

Thanks for the well-wishes, everyone! :)

25 02 2011
veggietestkitchen

Congrats on year 3! Can’t wait to see what the next year holds =) Thanks for posting the highlights, there are some really good ones in there that I missed! Cheers.

25 02 2011
The Mistress of Spices

Happy (belated) blog birthday, indeed! Would love to know more about the day trip to Chartres, it’s on my list of places to get to as well!

2 03 2011
croquecamille

veggietestkitchen – Thanks! Glad I got to show you some of my favorite posts!

Mistress of Spices – Chartres was great! The whole post can be found here.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

