Happiness is a Stuffed Squash

28 11 2010

I think it’s contagious.  Pumpkin mania, that is.  To be more specific, stuffed pumpkin mania.  Doubtless fueled by a recent spot on NPR’s All Things Considered, Dorie Greenspan’s stuffed pumpkin recipe has been making the blog rounds, and everyone’s raving about it.  Now I know why.

stuffed squashes and salad

I got a few cute little winter squashes called courge pomme d’or, or golden apple squash, in my CSA share a couple of weeks ago, and I decided it was finally time to see what all the fuss was about.  These particular squashes being pretty much impossible to cut or peel when they’re raw, I baked them in a covered dish with a little water for about 45 minutes before I even tried to cut off their hats.

mise-en-place for stuffed squashes

When that succeeded, I scooped out the rather stringy flesh, separated it from the seeds, which I should have saved for roasting but didn’t, and mixed it with all manner of good things.  Cubes of day-old baguette, a few spoonfuls of crème fraîche, some chopped garlic, diced Beaufort cheese, salt, pepper, and nutmeg combined to create a smell so good I wanted to just eat it by the spoonful.  I had thought about putting some sausage in there, but I forgot, and as it turns out, I think it may have tasted better without the meat getting in the way of the flavor of the squash and cheese.

before the second bake

I piled the filling into the hollowed-out squashes, and put them back in the oven to warm through and hopefully get a little toasty on top.  Almost like a twice-baked potato, only with squash, so there’s less guilt (somehow healthy, colorful vegetables make me forget how much cream and cheese I’ve put in something).  Just looking at them now makes me want to eat them again, right this minute.

after the bake

Really, what’s not to love about this technique?  (I say technique because it’s less of a recipe than an idea, which is just fine with me.)  Take a squash, hollow it out, fill it with things you like, bake, and eat.  Nothing could be simpler, and there are few things more fun to eat than something stuffed inside something else.  I hope to get many, many more winter squashes in my CSA in the coming months, because I would be happy to eat this once a week, all winter long.

On this day in 2009: Talking (Leftover) Turkey

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

14 responses

28 11 2010
Jenni

Long live techniques over recipes!! Oh, sorry–I got a little carried away.

Your little squashie guys look beautiful. I hope folks will take your squashies an inspiration to make their own versions.

Happiness is, indeed, a warm squash! :)

Hope your Thanksgiving was Awesome, Camille!

28 11 2010
Katia

I am salivating just looking at these! I had the pleasure of enjoying a BIG version a few weeks ago but now I’m dying to try making some of these adorable little ones! Just love the pics!

28 11 2010
Michel

I think pre-baking the pumpkins was a brilliant idea. I think it is such a pain to try and empty out raw ones. The final dish looks fabulous. I will have to keep this in mind for next fall for our Bistro menu. The plating will be spectacular.

29 11 2010
Celine

This looks soooo good! And that stuffing sounds amazing– would be good in pretty much anything. I love stuffed stuff.

29 11 2010
Hannah

Would you like to know how much I want this? Like, totally, a squillion amounts of wanting. I’ve yet to see anything at my local supermarket or farmers market that isn’t an enourmous butternut, kent, or Qeeensland blue pumpkin, and somehow I don’t fancy making a stuffed squash capable of feeding my entire unit block.

Maybe one day I’ll find a cute little squash like this one….

29 11 2010
hungry dog

Oh my goodness, these look absolutely delicious! I love their golden color. And stuffed with cheese? Um, YEAH.

29 11 2010
Delishhh

OH my – i have to make this. Looks fabulous. Saved to my delicious. Great blog, always love your recipes. Hope you had a good Thanksgiving.

1 12 2010
Nanan

Yum! That looks devine!

1 12 2010
Fiona at Life on Nanchang Lu

I love NPR! All Things Considered was often played on Radio National in Australia….so I got to thinking….how was Camille listening to NPR from Paris? And, after a little help from google to find the programme, I discovered that Dorie Greenspan (after 8 false starts and a reboot) was finally able to leap over the Great Firewall and smack bang into the People’s Republic of China.

Thanks Camille – I will enjoy catching up on all of Dorie’s broadcasts!

1 12 2010
croquecamille

Jenni – I totally thought of you when I wrote that!

Katia – What is it about small foods that makes them so irresistible?

Michel – I bet it will! :)

Celine – I know, I wanted to just eat the filling up with a spoon, but it was worth the wait.

Hannah – Maybe you could grow some?

hungry dog – I know! :)

Delishhh – Thanks, you, too!

Nanan – Thank you!

Fiona – My pleasure! The internet is really a fabulous tool. So how does that firewall/censorship thing work with blogs? Are you subject to any type of censoring?

5 12 2010
Lindsey@FreshAirFreshFood

Love the pictures all over your site and these ones are no exception. I am following, and you are making me hungry!

5 12 2010
Tammy McLeod

They are so pretty! I love the idea of a quasi-stuffing or bread pudding. Great job on presentation.

7 12 2010
Ann

Love! They are so cute, I want to pinch them. Bravo!

7 12 2010
croquecamille

Lindsey – Thank you! Glad to hear it!

Tammy – Thanks, they were fun to make and eat, too. :)

Ann – I know, aren’t they?




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

