Shilling French Toast

2 08 2010

I’m surprised it’s taken me this long to realized that picnic leftovers make excellent breakfasts.  First there was the enchistrata, and now, upon Nick’s insistence, the pile of mini pains perdus.

Mise en place for French toast

He’s asked for this before, but today finally managed to convince me to do it.  And it turns out he was right.  Half a day-old baguette makes the perfect amount of little French toasts for breakfast for two.  I started out calling them “silver dollar French toast,” but it just didn’t feel right.  Who knows what a silver dollar is over here?

Soaking

“Two-euro toast” didn’t sound quite right either.  But yesterday, while picnicking outside the Château de Versailles, Nick found a shilling coin in the grass.  From 1922.  It got me wondering how long it had been lying there, what it was worth when it was dropped…

But most of all, it seemed like a fitting name for the breakfast made of the leftover baguette from said picnic.

Frying

I don’t know the amounts I used, but if I were to venture a guess, it would go something like this: 1 egg, a third to a half a cup of milk, a couple tablespoons of cream, a pinch of sugar, a pinch of salt, and in a last-minute flash of inspiration, a splash of plum eau-de-vie.

I served the toasts with wedges of plum, not purchased for the picnic but could well have been, and slices of crisp oven bacon – having tried it once, I am a firm convert.

Shilling French Toast with Plums

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

12 responses

3 08 2010
Hannah

Who knows what a silver dollar is over here either? ;) I’m such a sucker for mini versions of treats, because that way I get to eat more by pretending I’m eating less. Wins all around! And even though I’m a bit of a pansy when it comes to spirits, your eau-de-vie addition sounds so tasty. Perhaps because plums are one of my favourite fruits?

4 08 2010
hungry dog

I love the idea of using baguette for french toast, I am totally stealing it! Although I worry it would compel me to toss the little slices back too easily. Oh well. There are worse things than stuffing yourself with french toast.

4 08 2010
croquecamille

Hannah – I almost always pour a little booze in my French toast custard. It’s an idea I got from my father-in-law, who makes a killer Grand Marnier french toast. Just gives it a little somethin’ somethin’, you know?

hungry dog – It is dangerously easy to eat, but can’t be any worse than eating that same baguette slathered in camembert, right?

4 08 2010
tasteofbeirut

These toasts look wonderful! I rarely have baguette leftover (as I swallow the entire thing when I get it) but if I do, I love this idea! nice and chewy and thick!

5 08 2010
croquecamille

tasteofbeirut – Thank you! We don’t usually have leftover baguette, either, but when there’s a big group picnic, everyone always brings too much. :)

5 08 2010
Tammy McLeod

Love using baguettes for french toast. My husband is over my shoulder at the moment and is now booking a ticket to Paris to come to your house for bacon.

6 08 2010
Ann Mah

We want to see the shilling!

6 08 2010
croquecamille

Tammy – Heh.

Ann – Ask and you shall receive.

22 08 2010
Isabelle

Pains perdus or croûtes dorées, both the same delicious toasts ;) You just gave me an idea for our Sunday breakfast with the left over baguette from yesterday lunch. I know a few who will wish for more ! Thanks and bon dimanche :)

23 08 2010
croquecamille

Yay! Merci beaucoup!

24 08 2010
onlinepastrychef

Oh, they are so cute and wee! I want to put them in my face, one after the other, like Sandy Duncan wanted to do with the Wheat Thins! :)

25 08 2010
croquecamille

Tee hee.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

