Around Paris: 19th: Zoe Bouillon

20 07 2010

Zoe Bouillon on a sunny afternoon

It’s too bad they’re closing next week for summer vacation, because Zoe Bouillon is serving up an ideal summer lunch.  I’ve walked past the cute canteen on rue Rébéval many times, but today was the first time I’d eaten there.  I doubt it will be the last.

A soup joint might not seem like the best place to eat on a warm July afternoon, but Zoe is cooking up (or mixing, rather) some delicious chilled soups, perfect for summer.  I met my friend Celine there for lunch on Monday, and we were delighted with the fresh, seasonal offerings.  The soups and salads are available à la carte or as part of a formule: from 9 euros for soup and a sandwich, salad, or slices of savory cake, to 11 euros for soup, sandwich or salad, cake and dessert.  We went with the simplest menu, though both of the freshly baked cakes looked so good, we both had to ask for a slice of each.

savory cakes at Zoe Bouillon

There was the mozzarella and herb, green with fresh herbs, and the goat cheese with eggplant and zucchini, which was still slightly warm from the oven.  Both cakes were incredibly moist with a pleasantly browned crust.

Gazpacho andalou with oeufs mimosa

For the soup, I chose the chilled gazpacho andalou, a refreshing and savory blend of tomatoes and herbs.  It was served with a sprinkling of crumbled oeufs mimosa (hard boiled eggs), which provided a satisfying dose of protein.

Chilled cucumber-mint soup at Zoe Bouillon

Celine opted for the chilled cucumber-mint soup, which was incredibly cooling.

The service here is pretty much non-existent, though the staff are friendly and accommodating.  The soups are served in plastic cups and the cakes  on paper plates.  Spoons, forks, knives, and napkins are disposable, too.  (A little surprising to see so much waste at an establishment that otherwise seems to respect food and nature.)  Orders are taken at the counter, and you bring your meal to your table on a brightly colored tray.  When you’re finished, you bus your own table.  It’s bare bones, but it probably helps to keep the prices low.

A restaurant with seasonal fare and reasonable prices in one of my very favorite Parisian neighborhoods?  I only wish I could swing by for lunch more often.

On this day in 2009: Le Rouennais (Another lovely lunch.)

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

6 responses

20 07 2010
researchingparis

Yum, that sounds delicious. Especially the cakes. I really need to hop on the savory cake wagon – if the temp would just drop long enough for my oven to be on… I am sad they won’t be open much longer before vacation. Just somewhere to add to my list for the fall!

21 07 2010
Hannah

Oh gosh, that all looks amazing! I’ve never had anything like *any* of those dishes. I’m a little bit in love with the idea of savoury cake.

21 07 2010
croquecamille

researchingparis – If you can get there this week, go. It’s awesome. But I’m sure there will be delicious warming soups in the fall, which will be good, too…

Hannah – It’s a big thing in France, and one I have adopted wholeheartedly!

22 07 2010
hungry dog

What a perfect lunch spot. If I ever make it to Paris you and I should meet there for a summer lunch!

23 07 2010
Jessica

I want the recipe for that mozzarella and herb cake. That looks delicious and is making me hungry. Any plans to recreate it? Hint, hint…

24 07 2010
croquecamille

hungry dog – It’s a date!

Jessica – If I were to do such a thing, I would probably tweak my recipe for cauliflower cake. I think you can take it from there… :)




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

