Welcome to my New Kitchen

6 07 2010

Obviously, I’ve been cooking.  And it’s high time I delivered on my promise to give you a tour of the new digs.  The photos have joined the Flickr set, and you can go there to see them with detailed notes.  Alternatively, you can click each individual picture to see it up close.  So without further ado…

The view of the kitchen from the living room. Note the awesome hugeness of the fridge.

The oven rocks, but the stove sucks the life out of me. Induction schminduction. Sure it boils water in record time, but what good is that if I can't cook my eggs at the same time as the coffee? My rice at the same time as my steak? None, I tell you.

Besides the stove, I also really hate the sink. It's too small, hence impossible to wash dishes without splashing all over the nice wood countertop. I'm really glad we put in the knife magnet, though. Love that thing.

We put these shelves in on the kitchen side of the bar, because otherwise, we would have nowhere to store food. How I miss my root cellar.

Of course, we had to find a place for the cookbooks and liquor.

In retrospect, I really wish we’d gotten a before picture of this kitchen, because after several weekends spent measuring, shopping, transporting, and installing, it’s a completely different workspace.  It went from bachelor pad to pastry chef-avid home cook-food blogger’s haven.  Just imagine it with a tiny fridge where the oven is, no shelves, no spice racks, no hanging bars or hooks, and half-unpacked boxes everywhere.  We’d love to replace the sink and get a real, 4-burner gas stove, but as we’re probably only going to be living here another year, and the landlords refuse to pay for any improvements, it’s not worth the hassle.

So there it is, my new laboratory.  The increased counter space, bigger oven, and better fridge almost make up for the stove, sink, and storage frustrations.  I’ve been trying to focus on those positives, and so far, this new kitchen is serving me pretty well.

On this day in 2009: Eat Like an American.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

14 responses

6 07 2010
Chez Loulou

Looks nice! Totally jealous of the huge fridge (and is that a dishwasher? because if so, now I am REALLY jealous) and sorry about that tiny stovetop.
Hope to see it in person some day. :)

6 07 2010
Wendy

Looks like you are nicely settled in to your new kitchen. I think your descriptions of the place prior to your additions are cool. You’ve done amazing things. I especially like the bookshelf/bar unit.

6 07 2010
isathreadsoflife

This is what I call “Un espace bien utilisé !” Bravo for your magical touch.

7 07 2010
Hannah

Have to say, “bench space win!” was my first thought upon looking at these photos! It’s no Smurf Kitchen, but it’ll do :P (We have a tiny sink too. It does make washing up less than easy, but ah well.)

Can’t wait to see what you cook up next! (P.S. I’m terrified the chocolate is going to be all melted by the time it gets to you. Oh noes!)

7 07 2010
Esme

This is a lovely kitchen-although that sink is so inappropriate for a kitchen-you would not be able to scrub anything.

7 07 2010
croquecamille

Loulou – Yes, that is a dishwasher! I guess I forgot to mention it. It rules because it fits wine glasses!

Mom – Thanks! Glad you approve! :)

Isa – Thank you! It was a lot of work, but it’s really paid off.

Hannah – Well, we can’t all have cartoon-colored kitchens. ;) And the chocolate is here! It’s safe at my friend’s house – I haven’t had a chance to go over there and get it yet.

Esme – Exactly! I think the person who owned it before never cooked, and therefore never had to clean up.

8 07 2010
Tammy McLeod

I think it looks really nice. You’ve clearly done a lot of work and as I recall, you weren’t too happy in your last digs. Good work and good news about the big fridge.

8 07 2010
Michel Augsburger

Your kitchen looks terrific. You have done a good job. I am confident that you will figure out a way to overcome the challenges in short order and have more great things to share. Good luck.

9 07 2010
thehungryscholar

I’ve never been so jealous of a kitchen in my life. Super cute.

And, I love the blog :)

9 07 2010
Ann Mah

Lovely! Though I see what you mean about the stove (only two burners?! Oy vey). But I have no doubt you will triumph, Camille!

9 07 2010
croquecamille

Tammy – Thank you! I feel the need to clarify, in case of doubt: I was deleriously happy in my old apartment. It was beautiful, sunny, quiet, and bigger than the one I’m in now. It also had iron scrollwork on the windows and exposed beams. And it was cheaper. And the neighborhood was safer. Did I mention the exposed beams and scrollwork?

Michel – Merci!

hungryscholar -Thanks, and glad to “meet” you!

Ann – Two burners… that don’t work simultaneously. It’s all about 1-pan meals and keeping things warm in the oven. (Although these days I barely want to heat anything!)

9 07 2010
onlinepastrychef

Yay! I really like that industrial light fixture over the cookbook/liquor cabinet.

11 07 2010
hungry dog

What fun to see some literal snapshots of your life in Paris! Looks like a great kitchen. Hey, that knife magnet thing…I need one.

11 07 2010
croquecamille

pastrychef – I like how the silveriness echoes the pots hanging on the wall behind it. :)

hungry dog – I can’t imagine how I ever lived without one. ;)




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

