Around Paris: 3rd: Jacques Genin

2 04 2010

I’ve been trying to write this post forever.  Like since early 2009, shortly after the place opened.  I went as soon as I had a chance, and tried not to touch anything in the pristine shop.  I bought a sleek brushed steel box of nine chocolates for ten euros, and of course gobbled them up  savored them all before thinking to take any pictures.  (For the record, though, their pralinés are some of the most amazingly smooth I’ve ever tasted, and I find the tea ganaches a tad too subtle for my tastes, but are very obviously of the highest quality.)

Jacques Genin storefront

Jacques Genin’s unassuming storefront on rue de Turenne, in the northern Marais, belies the modern luxury on the inside.  The shop is one enormous room, with a staircase spiraling up to the workshop.  Behind the stairs are several tables, at which you can sit and enjoy house-made pastries like the sublime lemon tart or made-to-order millefeuille with a pot of exotic or vintage tea.  Along the windowed street-side wall is a cash register flanked by a pastry case and the array of chocolates.  Right by the door – to catch you coming or going, I guess – is a counter devoted to Genin’s celebrated caramels.  I managed to resist until my most recent visit, when I sat down for tea and sweets, and was brought a free caramel with the bill.  Let me tell you, those caramels are perfection.  Chewy, buttery, and rich with dark caramel flavor, they are an absolute delight.

So by all means, come for the chocolates, but consider staying for the tea and pastries, and don’t leave without a bag of caramels.

On this day in 2008: Le Bastringue (Still one of the best lunch deals in Paris!)

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

9 responses

2 04 2010
Hannah

Well then, I guess you’ll just have to take them some of your own tea ganache chocolates and show Jacques how it’s done, right? :D

And made-to-order millefeuille? Wow. I’m guessing that means they assemble it when you order it, to prevent the slightest hint of sogginess?

3 04 2010
Louise

I’m very glad that you got to blogging this now. I’ll be visiting Paris in June, and whilst I’ve already found about 6 months of treats and special places to visit (in our two weeks), I definitely want to try and check this one out. Anywhere that has a sublime lemon tart is a must visit for me. Oh, and caramels….

3 04 2010
hungry dog

Oh, caramels. Yes please! yet another reason for me to get to Paris!

4 04 2010
croquecamille

Hannah – So far, my application has gone ignored… :( But as to the millefeuille, you are absolutely correct! It’s a level of care you don’t see many places.

Louise – I would definitely put this one near the top of your list. If you have to skip Laduree, so be it.

hungry dog – They keep piling up, don’t they? ;)

6 04 2010
Food lover

I feel more and more tempted to go to Paris with every post I read in your blog! Would love to see more pictures!

6 04 2010
Tammy McLeod

I love your description of “sublime lemon tart”.

6 04 2010
Jessica

My mouth is watering right now. Just the mention of pralines has me going ga ga. Since many things in the South, and specifically in Louisiana find their roots in France, I’m assuming the pralines of the American south are the same as in France?

6 04 2010
croquecamille

Food lover – Maybe I should get the Paris tourism office to start paying me! ;)

Tammy – I can’t resist a good citrus pun!

Jessica – Actually, no. I wouldn’t be surprised to learn that the two have a common origin, but French pralinés are confections made from caramelized almonds and hazelnuts, ground to a paste. (Praliné, the paste, is a common ingredient in many French pastries, notably the Paris-Brest.) Maybe the Louisianans (?) were trying to recreate this with the locally available pecans when they came up with their version…

28 04 2010
Tweets that mention Around Paris: 3rd: Jacques Genin « Croque-Camille -- Topsy.com

[...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Stimmler-Hall. Stimmler-Hall said: In case you didn't get enough chocolate yesterday: http://tinyurl.com/yb68l8x [...]




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

