Around Paris: 8th: La Maison Du Chocolat

5 03 2010

It’s tough to come by cheap eats in an arrondissement where shops like this are the norm:

View from La Maison du Chocolat...

In the block or two that I walked between the FDR Métro stop and La Maison du Chocolat, I passed Dior, Gucci, Dolce & Gabbana, Chanel, Jimmy Choo, Chloé, and a number of other shops with security guards and salespeople better dressed than I was.  Fortunately, all this scenery makes chocolate look like a positively affordable luxury, and paying 5 euros for an éclair seems like a bargain.  (Really, though, when it’s hands-down the best éclair I’ve had in Paris, 5 euros IS a bargain.  Caramel éclair fans, get yourselves to La Maison du Chocolat ASAP.)

I have a picture of the storefront, as viewed from the Cartier shop in the previous photo, but for some reason WordPress doesn’t like it, so I’ll have to send you over to Flickr if you want to see it.  Or the unopened box of chocolates.

Since I’m on their mailing list, I had a good reason to go over there.  (Ok, there are several locations throughout the city, but there are two in the 8th, and when else do I have such a good excuse to go window-licking* on the Avenue Montaigne?)  I had a certificate for a free box of birthday chocolates!  Yay!

Ooops.

Of which I seem to have greedily eaten one before remembering to take a picture.  But let me tell you, that coconut praliné (lower right in the photo) is out of this world.  That comes as no surprise though, as La Maison du Chocolate delivers consistent high-quality, whether it’s ganaches, pastries, or service.  It’s vexing, then, that they don’t allow photography within the shop, which is always beautiful and clean, with neat stacks of chocolates and other goodies lining the case and even a few seats for enjoying a coffee or treat on the spot.

Attention to detail

Even the bottoms of the chocolates show their exquisite attention to detail.  So if you happen to find yourself hungry in the 8th arrondissement, I highly recommend stopping by a La Maison du Chocolate for sustenance, and then heading off to cheaper climes for lunch or dinner.

* faire de la lèche-vitrine – literally, “window licking,” this is the French expression for “window shopping,” which I totally love.

On this day in 2008: Reubenesque

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

13 responses

5 03 2010
Hannah

CAMILLE!!!! You’re doing it again with the making me too excited. (Though I could be in Paris as early as the weekend after this coming one… waiting to hear back from a few friends. Gosh, I need to decide, otherwise I’ll end up in a dodgy hostel like I did here in Bruges…)

For the non-eclair obsessed amongst us, what other Maison du Chocolate treats would you recommend?

5 03 2010
erin

Yea! Maison du Chocolat is my favorite!

6 03 2010
Esme

I love Maison du Chocolat-I wish I was on a plane to Paris this weekend.

6 03 2010
Tami

Their caramel eclair haunts me almost daily. Its been 3 years since I’ve had one, and enough is enough. I think I’m heading to Paris this year, if for no reason but for that!

6 03 2010
croquecamille

Hannah – Are you a member of Hostelling International? There’s one in my neighborhood that looks decent. As for the chocolate, I recommend the rigoletto noir, the aforementioned coconut praliné, and any ganache that strikes your fancy. The staff usually speak English, and are happy to help. (Personally, I was disappointed in the fennel ganache – too licorice-y, but if you’re into that, I’m sure it’s good.)

erin – And for good reason!

Esme – It’ll happen sometime, I’m sure. :)

Tami – Glad I’m not the only one! ;)

6 03 2010
Hannah

Not a member, but I stayed in them in NY and DC and they were good, so I’ll look it up! You do realise, though, that you’re risking finding me sitting on your doorstop every morning when you go to work? :D

Also nice to hear the staff there speak English – I hate needing that, but it’s been too many years since high school French. (Fennel I don’t mind, but licorice I do, so I’ll probably avoid that one…)

6 03 2010
Food lover

Chocolate looks magnifique! I so need to visit Paris again after reading your blog…

6 03 2010
Ann Mah

Ohhhh, their éclair au caramel… you introduced me and I fell in love. Just typing this comment makes me want to go out and get one for dessert tonight.

7 03 2010
hungry dog

Window licking! I love it. And, I love your chocolates, they look gorgeous.

8 03 2010
croquecamille

Hannah – You won’t be up that early… ;)

Food lover – Yeah, I get that a lot. :)

Ann – I know! They’re like that.

hungry dog – I love expressions that give you such a clear image.

15 04 2010
The Allure of Gourmet Chocolate | Chocolate Recipes for You

[...] Around Paris: 8th: La Maison Du Chocolat « Croque-Camille [...]

18 04 2010
Jocelyn

Yummy… I would love to travel to Paris and try out all of the different chocolate treats they have to offer ;) These sound and look sooo good!

19 04 2010
croquecamille

Jocelyn – Heh, I’m doing my best to sample as many as I can. :)




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

