The Maiden Voyage of La Sorbetière

26 02 2010

Caramel Apple Ice Cream with Bourbon-Pecan Caramel Sauce

Today’s gray, rainy, and windy morning somehow managed to turn into a still windy but wonderfully sunny, blue-skied afternoon.  Since it was Friday, and I already had the pictures edited and recipe typed for today’s post, I thought I’d take a walk up in Montmartre after work.  I mean, what’s the point of living in Paris if you can’t take some time to get out and enjoy it every now and then?  Besides, I’M ON VACATION!  (WHOO-HOO!  Excuse me.)  It just seemed like an appropriate celebration of a sunny, almost-Spring day to take a walk in one of Paris’ hilliest, most convoluted neighborhoods.  Oh, I had a reason, and a purpose to my visit, which you’ll learn about soon enough, but I resolved not to just head-down, look-at-the-Google-map-on-my-phone my way to where I was going.  No, I wanted to get a little turned around (which I definitely did), look at some beautiful architecture (I think my favorites are the elaborate apartment buildings built in the first decade of the 20th century), and maybe even get some exercise (thank you, rues Lamarck and Caulaincourt and your intervening staircases).

Custard, left; caramelized apples, right.

Sorry, none of this really has anything to do with ice cream.  I made ice cream.  I’ve done it before.  But not in my own ice cream maker in Paris.  I wanted to try something new to christen the new appliance, and I wanted to use apples, because that’s the only fruit we get in the CSA this time of year, and they tend to pile up.  So I caramelized a whole bunch of them, and pureed them with a standard, less-sweet vanilla custard, to which I’d added a soupçon of bourbon.  The sorbetière worked its magic, and now I have a big container of original ice cream in my freezer.  I wanted a sauce to go with it, so I whipped up a quick caramel sauce with toasted pecans.  I didn’t write the recipe, because it’s too simple: caramelize sugar, add cream, stir in toasted pecan pieces and salt.  Spoon over ice cream and eat.

Digging in

Click on through for the ice cream recipe, if you want it.

Bourbon Caramel Apple Ice Cream

This recipe started life as a sophisticated tarte tatin ice cream.  A little crème fraîche, a puff pastry garnish… and it just started to feel too fussy.  A wallop of bourbon helped to loosen things up.

For the apples:

6 medium apples (about 1½ lb./740g), peeled, cored, and quartered
1½ oz./45g unsalted butter (3 Tbsp.)
2½ oz./75g sugar (1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp.)
A healthy splash of bourbon

  1. Melt the butter in a medium nonstick skillet.  Add the sugar and cook until the sugar starts to melt.  Place the apple quarters in the sauce and cook over medium-low heat, turning occasionally, until evenly caramelized.  Pour some bourbon over the apples and cook a few more minutes to evaporate and loosen the caramel.  Remove from heat.

For the custard:

1 cup/240 ml milk, preferably whole
1 cup/240 ml cream
½ vanilla bean
¼ cup/55 g (just shy of 2 oz.) sugar
Pinch of salt
4 egg yolks
1 Tbsp./15 ml bourbon
Caramelized apples (see above)

  1. Combine the milk and cream in a saucepan.  Split the vanilla bean, scrape the seeds into the milk, and drop the bean in there.  Bring to a simmer over medium heat, stirring occasionally to make sure the bottom isn’t scorching.  Meanwhile, whisk together the egg yolks, sugar, and salt in a heatproof bowl. 
  2. When the milk simmers, reduce the heat and pour some of the hot milk into the egg yolks, whisking vigorously.  Pour this mixture back into the saucepan and continue cooking over low heat, stirring constantly, until it coats the back of a spoon or reaches 175F/80C.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in the bourbon.  Add the apples and all the caramelized juices and purée with an immersion blender (this can also be done in batches in a regular blender, but you should probably let it cool down first).  Strain into a clean container and chill thoroughly.
  4. Freeze in your ice cream maker, according to its instructions.

Makes a generous quart/liter.

On this day in 2008: Winter Duck Dinner

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

12 responses

26 02 2010
laura k

Just yesterday I was thinking that I might have to liberate my ice cream machine from its winter captivity and make a batch of something good. And you’ve given me my inspiration. Thanks!

26 02 2010
Esme

Enjoy your beautiful spring day.

27 02 2010
Alexander

Oh my God that looks hella good! Send me some immediately

27 02 2010
Hannah

I must admit, when I saw the first picture I thought you’d actually made the ice cream sundae with bacon coffee toffee sauce, but I will accept that caramel pecan sauce *probably* fits a caramelised apple ice cream a little bit better. Oh gosh, for the ability to taste again!

28 02 2010
croquecamille

laura k – You’re very welcome! Ice cream is definitely a year-round treat.

Esme – Thank you! I’m glad I did, because today there is nothing but wind and rain again.

Alexander – I would, if I didn’t think it would melt en route…

Hannah – Ha! Believe it or not, I still have a little of the coffee toffee still hanging around, waiting for the right ice cream to top. :)

28 02 2010
hungry dog

Wow. Amazing. Is it wrong to want this when it’s only 9am here?! Seriously, looks magazine-worthy. ANd love reading about your wanderings in Paris…you’re living a dream!

1 03 2010
Jennifer

I love reading all about your journeys in Paris, so inspirational and dreamy like for me!

Now this icecream with the bourbon sauce…. total drool worthy!

1 03 2010
Hopie

Ok, why are you getting lost in Montmartre without calling ME, or at least coming over for a drink afterward? Huh? On Fri. I even made an apple crumble (so. many. csa. apples.) with your crumble topping recipe (which is super good by the way. – D. likes her mom’s topping recipe but it’s all white flour and white sugar and it’s too sweet for me. Give me brown sugar and oats any day)!

1 03 2010
croquecamille

hungry dog – I’ve definitely snuck in a quick spoonful (right out of the container, obviously) before breakfast. And I’m really trying to make the most of my time in Paris – I know it won’t last forever.

Jennifer – Thank you!

Hopie – D’oh! I could have had drinks and apple crumble? Lesson learned.

2 03 2010
kristy

You’ve such a beautiful blog here. And I adored the one you wrote about ‘Why do you cook?’ The sourdough bread looks pretty good too. Btw, this ice-cream looks fantastic. Just what I need! I’ll scroll around after this. Have a nice day.
Cheers,
Kristy

2 03 2010
croquecamille

kristy – Thanks, and enjoy!

2 03 2010
Around Paris: 18th: Chez Virginie « Croque-Camille

[...] reason for my Montmartre wanderings last Friday was this: a fromagerie.  Frankly, it’s a little embarrassing that I hadn’t [...]




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

