Kitchen Chinese

9 02 2010

A novel about food, family, and finding yourself

I miss Isabelle. 

Let me back up a little.  One of my fellow American expat food bloggers in Paris, Ann Mah, has written a novel.  It’s called Kitchen Chinese, and it’s loosely based on some of her experiences as a Chinese-American woman navigating the quarterlife in Beijing.  And it’s a delight.  From the intriguing and informative quotes on classic Chinese food that begin each chapter, to the mouthwatering descriptions of traditional (and not-so-traditional) Chinese meals, to the immediately lovable characters, the book is both fun and thought-provoking.

Aside from her knowledge about and skill in describing food, Ann’s greatest strength is creating characters.  The protagonist, Isabelle Lee, feels like a friend after only a few pages, which make her disappointments all the more crushing and her triumphs all the more cheer-inspiring for the reader.  Isabelle’s relationships with her family, friends, and coworkers ring true, and the changes those relationships go through feel natural and real, never forced for the sake of plot advancement.

I know I’m not the first, nor will I be the last person to read this book and wind up craving Chinese food.  I tried not to dwell too long on the part about that elusive specialty of Shanghai, xiaolongbao, because my Parisian hunt for them has so far turned up fruitless.  But the moon festival party scene, with its piles of steaming dumplings, sent me almost immediately up the street to the Restaurant Raviolis.

It's not soup dumplings, but it'll do

Where I proceeded to gorge myself, as per usual, with dumplings.  Dumplings floating in flavorful broth, and dumplings pan-fried to a crisp golden brown and dunked in soy sauce and black vinegar.

One of the best dumplings in town.

I am also now in search of a restaurant in Paris that serves Yunnan cuisine, which I never knew about before, but having learned of it, must taste.  Chinese cheese?  Sign me up!

I could definitely relate to Isabelle’s struggles as she finds her way in a new culture – while China and France are obviously very different places, there are certain elements of the expat experience that are universal.  And connecting to a culture by way of its food is one of them.  Dining being the convivial experience that it is, it is one of the best ways to build friendships, which is hugely important when you’ve transplanted yourself thousands of miles from home.  A country’s cuisine can also tell stories about its values and showcase its aesthetics.  Isabelle has the good fortune to get hired as the dining editor for an English-language magazine, which immediately plunges her into the world of Chinese cuisine, from Beijing’s street carts to Hong Kong’s dim sum.  As a result, she is forced to improve her language skills from the titular “kitchen Chinese,” as well as figure out how she fits into a country where she doesn’t look foreign, but feels it.

I feel lucky to have been asked to receive an advance review copy of Kitchen Chinese, but having finished the book, I miss my friend Isabelle.

You can get your own copy through my Amazon store, Ann’s blog, or at one of her upcoming book events.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

14 responses

9 02 2010
hungry dog

I’ll have to look for this book–it sounds like a great read! Thank you for the review and recommendation. As for shanghai dumplings, they are one of my favorites at dim sum–and I happen to be going for dim sum tomorrow! Now you’ve really put me in the mood!

9 02 2010
croquecamille

hungry dog – It is! I couldn’t put it down – started on Thursday morning and finished Sunday afternoon, read on the Métro and during my lunch break. Now I want dim sum, too!

9 02 2010
Hannah

I agree about a country’s food showing something about the country itself. Grapples and Batter Blaster, anyone? :P

But in all seriousness, this is such a considerate and well-written review, and makes me want to head out and find it as soon as I can. (I guess Bleak House will have to wait a bit longer for its time in the spotlight…)

10 02 2010
purpleceline

Those dumplings look delicious. I’ll have to try that restaurant.
Last night we went up the street to Paris Store to buy ingredients for a Vietnamese-style dinner, and ended up getting some incredible shrimp shu mai. The brand is Guang Ton Dim Sum. Definitely worth a walk up the block!

10 02 2010
croquecamille

Hannah – Now that’s just uncalled for. :) And you should try to find a copy, it would make a great travel read!

purpleceline – They’re some of the best dumplings I’ve ever had. Maybe we should go together one of these days? I love Paris Store – they always have something fun!

11 02 2010
Ann

Camille, I am so honored by your review and thrilled that you enjoyed Kitchen Chinese — I get so nervous when people read the book! Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful post. Looking forward to more dumpling taste-testing with you soon! xxx

11 02 2010
croquecamille

Ann – Really, it’s my pleasure. So, do you know of any Yunnan places in Paris?

11 02 2010
tasteofbeirut

Interesting! Now I am going to have to read this book soon!

12 02 2010
purpleceline

Definitely up for a dumpling trip. Let’s talk next week.

12 02 2010
croquecamille

tasteofbeirut – Glad to hear I piqued your interest.

purpleceline – Yes!

13 02 2010
Esme

Thank you for this. I am going to go get my own copy.

15 02 2010
croquecamille

Esme – Great!

24 02 2010
Sean

Sounds like a great read!

For me, I get that “…sent me almost immediately up the street…” feeling when I watch the first 10 minutes of “Eat Drink Man Woman”.

A great movie on its own, but what fantastic Chinese food scenes!

25 02 2010
croquecamille

Sean -Wow, those are some knife skills!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

