M&M Cookies and Other Super Bowl Treats

2 02 2010

Well, the Big Game is coming up on Sunday.  Who are you rooting for?  And more importantly, what will you eat?  I’m looking to help out on that second one.  I don’t follow sports religiously, but I do enjoy playoffs, and I have my teams.  What I enjoy the most about the Super Bowl, though (this is going to come as a huge shock to my regular readers) is getting together with friends and eating while we watch.  I also like the commercials, but really it’s the conviviality of the experience that I look forward to.  I like to plan out a menu, or just a dish if it’s a potluck-type thing.  I like preparing it, knowing that it means a fun time is just around the corner.

M&M cookies

I made these cookies a while ago, with a bag of M&Ms Dark that somehow wound up on my shelf after Thanksgiving.  I thought they were quintessentially American, and hence perfect for nibbling during the USA’s most-watched sporting event.  If you’re the superfan type, you could probably get the candies in your team’s colors for an even more festive cookie.  Stay tuned after the recipe for more crowd-friendly Super Bowl party food ideas.

M&M Cookies

I like these made with the Dark M&Ms, which taste more like the semi-sweet chips I’m used to in chocolate chip cookies.  This is a small batch which can easily be doubled.

2½ oz. / 70 g unsalted butter, softened (or use salted and omit the salt later)
3 oz. / 85 g brown sugar
1½ oz. / 43 g granulated sugar
¼ tsp. fine sea salt
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
5 oz. / 140 g all-purpose flour
1/8 tsp. baking soda
5 oz. / 140 g M&Ms (a heaping half-cup)

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F/175C.
  2. Cream the butter, sugars, and salt together until smooth.  (You can do this by hand, as it doesn’t have to get to that “light and fluffy” stage.)  Add the egg and vanilla and beat until smooth once again.
  3. Combine the flour and baking soda, then add them to the bowl.  Stir gently until evenly incorporated.  Stir in the M&Ms.
  4. Drop by rounded tablespoons – by which I mean the spoons you use to eat off of, at the table – onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  (I like to line mine with parchment paper, but it’s not strictly necessary.)  Bake about 14 minutes, until the edges are golden brown.  It’s ok if the centers still look a bit moist – they’ll set up as the cookies cool.

Makes 15 cookies.

But a Super Bowl party cannot subsist on cookies alone.  Here are some ideas to round out the spread.

Dips and Snacks

Caramelized Onion-Bacon Dip
Great Grilled Guacamole
Sweet and Salty Spiced Pecans
Cheesy Poofs

Heartier Fare

Coleslaw
Pizza (Or any of these variations: Flammekueche, Endive, Potimarron, Pissaladière, Calzone, Broccoli)
Cauliflower “Cake”
Jalapeno-Cheese Bread (Makes great sandwiches!)

Sweets

Date Crumble Bars
Apple Cake
Spiced Pear Coffee Cake
Chili Brownies (These have been a huge hit at two football-watching parties already!)

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

14 responses

2 02 2010
onlinepastrychef

I might just have to make some cheesy poofs this year, Camille! I usually stick with hummus, but you are Influencing Me to try out some gougeres at home–even w/o my induction burner that I loved so much. :)

3 02 2010
Hannah

Gotta love a recipe with equal quantities of chocolate and flour! :D

Funny story – I actually escaped the whole Super Bowl lead-up and American football season by leaving Australia for America :P My dad is a huge fan so records and watches every single game on tv in Australia, yet as I don’t travel with my own TV, I’ve heard not a skerrick of football talk in my two months in the US!

3 02 2010
A

I was going to compliment you on not going native and spurning football for “football”, but I see from your proportions that you have. 15 cookies?? Those won’t last through the first commercial break! ;)

4 02 2010
hungry dog

Nothing’s more American than candy baked into a cookie. Nice! I love M&Ms. What the heck that candy shell is made of no one knows but I love it. I don’t even know who’s playing in the superbowl.

4 02 2010
croquecamille

pastrychef – You definitely should! And the cheesy poofs don’t care what kind of burner you have. :)

Hannah – So who’s his team?

A – Ha! You’re so right!

hungry dog – Exactly what I thought. (And in case you wanted to know, it’s the Colts and the Saints.)

4 02 2010
Ann Mah

The NYT’s Melissa Clark has some delectable sounding recipes for dip this week. Spicy blue cheese dip? I was drooling. Happy super bowl!

4 02 2010
Hannah

He doesn’t ever seem to have one – he just records and watches every. single. game…

4 02 2010
Cookie

I love all the wonderful Superbowl food ideas! We’re hosting this year and besides deviled eggs and guacamole, I’m pretty lost. I’m definitely making pizza during Half Time but I think those pecans would be a great addition to our spread!

5 02 2010
Gaby

Dear CroqueCamille, the M&M cookies are a divine idea! I remember when I was growing up in Greece during the 80’s, M&M’s were not something you could find there. My mom had a friend bring some from the USA and made cookies with them, and since then I will never forget M&M’s. Also, your site was such a pleasure to visit. Well presented, clean, clear and beautiful photos. I shall be returning for another delicious bite. Thank you for sharing,
Cheers, Gaby
You can visit me at http://ptsaldari.posterous.com

5 02 2010
croquecamille

Ann – Spicy blue cheese dip sounds amazing! Happy Super Bowl to you, too!

Hannah – Oh, dear. It’s worse than I thought. :)

Cookie – I adore deviled eggs! Glad I could help! :)

Gaby – Sounds like they really made an impression! And thank you so much for the compliment!

9 02 2010
Hopie

So did you watch? Super Bowl Sunday is one of the few moments of the year when I miss US television (the other is the State of the Union but you can watch that on the NY Times website – why is it they don’t do football?), especially since my dad is from New Orleans and was all excited. Still, I can always find an excuse to make good food ;-)

9 02 2010
croquecamille

Hopie – No, the 12:30 am kickoff and the 5:20 am alarm clock are fundamentally incompatible. I got to watch last year, though. I heard they showed it on Canal+ this year, but without the American commercials, it can’t possibly be the same.

10 02 2010
Cherine

Those cookies look yummy!

10 02 2010
croquecamille

Cherine – Thank you!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

