Around Paris: 15th: L’Arbre de Sel

15 01 2010

One of my favorite Christmas surprises this year was a restaurant guide to Paris and France published by Le Fooding.  Not only does it have irreverent writing and good tips on some lesser-known, not-necessarily-starred restaurants, but the artwork is incredibly cool, too!  Following the ultra French Christmas celebrations, Nick and I have been on a bit of an Asian food kick.  So when I was flipping through my new guide and I happened upon the phrase “probably the best Korean cuisine in Paris,” we had to try it.  Now I’m no expert on Korean food, but I’ve been reading more and more about it lately (I sense the dawn of a new fad), and I thought it was high time I get stuck in.

L'Arbre de Sel - exterior

We got our chance last Friday, a frigid, icy day in Paris (see the snow on top of the cars?).  Along with our friend Joe Dragavon (an eager participant in the venture who wanted a shout-out), we lucked out getting a table for three without a reservation.  Inside, L’Arbre de Sel is warm and intimate.  Sleek modern art graces the walls, and appears to be for sale as well.

There was no question as to what I would be ordering – I saw the bibimbap served in a sizzling hot bowl and knew it would be just the thing to shake off the chill.  My compatriots were equally decisive, despite the generously sized menu.  Nick chose a kimchee soup, and Joe went with the chicken bulgogi.  Each of our dishes was served with an assortment of sides, including bowls of broth, rice, pickled vegetables, and small pieces of savory omelette.

Read the rest of this entry »








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

