Trotter Gear and Duck Confit

17 11 2009

As part of my continuing infatuation with Fergus Henderson, I have made and cooked with his Trotter Gear recipe from Beyond Nose to Tail.  And I wrote all about it for the fabulous Nose to Tail at Home.  Here’s a little something to whet your appetite…

Chicken and Bacon Pie... er, sort of.

How did I get from pig’s feet to this tasty meat pie?  You’ll have to click over to my guest post to find out.

* * * * *

Speaking of preserved meats, I believe I mentioned that it was my goal to make cassoulet for Languedoc month.  I left out the part where I planned to make my own duck confit.  Well, the process has begun.  Using an amalgam of recipes from Robuchon and Ruhlman (what’s with the five-hour difference in cooking time, guys?), I have rubbed three duck legs with a mortar-and-pestled mixture of coarse sea salt, black peppercorns, bay leaves, cloves, and garlic.

Neither R nor R told me to do this, but it seemed like a good idea.

Now I have to wait two days to cover the legs in more duck fat and cook them ever so slowly until they just about fall apart.  It’s going to be tough, but the kitchen now smells like garlic and bay, and that’s never a bad thing.

Soak it up, little duckies

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

6 responses

18 11 2009
This Week’s Harvest, 11/18 « Seasonal Market Menus

[...] and the haricots lingots (dried white beans – in the net bag there) will join forces with my duck confit to make cassoulet.  Potatoes are, of course, a staple, and these will likely end up on the [...]

19 11 2009
Ryan

Camille, you are amazing. One of the best parts about starting my website is that I got to e-meet you. If I ever make it out to France-which is a possibility-then dinner is on me, I insist.

19 11 2009
croquecamille

Wow, now I’m blushing! Please do let me know if/when you make it to Paris! Hmmm… which Michelin 3-star do I most want to try? ;)

25 11 2009
Ann Mah

Wow, awesome! I look forward to hearing about the finished product. I only just realized that confit de canard is usually a packaged food, the French equivalent of a ready meal (duh). Really impressed by your culinary fortitude on this project!!

25 11 2009
Treasures of the Languedoc « Croque-Camille

[...] now for an update on the duck confit.  Last week, I rinsed and dried the duck legs while I melted all the duck fat in the house.  [...]

28 11 2009
croquecamille

Ann – Thank you! I’m pretty excited about it myself – I just hope it tastes as good as it smells!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

