My Dijon Photo Album

29 10 2009

Sadly, we are running out of October.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Halloween, and Thanksgiving even more, but I wish I had more time to explore the rich culinary heritage of Bourgogne.  There were two pretty stellar lunches, featuring Burgundian classics like kir, oeufs meurette, and all kinds of mushroom dishes (we picked the right time to go to Burgundy – just as mushroom season was getting into full swing!); and one rather disappointing dinner, which I didn’t bother photographing.  We did a lot of walking around the city, admiring the timbered houses and colorful tiled roofs.  Since I’d be here all night if I tried to cover it all in one post, instead I have built a mosaic of my favorite pictures from the trip.  Click on the title of the photo at the bottom if you want a better view or a little more info.  Enjoy!

Good views and good eats in Burgundy
1. Kir in its Natural Habitat, 2. St-Begnigne Cathedral, Dijon, 3. Velouté de Poireaux, 4. Lentil Salad with Ham at L’O, 5. L’O – Chicken in Mushroom Sauce, 6. Entrecôte at L’O, 7. Pear “Biscuit” at L’O, 8. Boules de Glace at L’O, 9. Hôtel de Vogüe, 10. Place de la Libération, 11. L’Eau d’Origine Contrôlée, 12. Oeufs Meurette at Café Gourmand, 13. Mushroom Tatin at Café Gourmand, 14. Crumble au Potiron at Café Gourmand, 15. Veal Burger, 16. Pompon Boar, 17. L’Assommoir, 18. Gargoyles

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

10 responses

29 10 2009
thelocalguide

looks like a great place to eat :)

29 10 2009
croquecamille

thelocalguide – Oh, yeah!

29 10 2009
lissa

love the mosaic! looks beautiful… will have to add it to my ever expanding list. heading to the states for thanksgiving – any wish list items to add?

29 10 2009
onlinepastrychef

Wow, that is one heady mosaic! I’m so glad you had a great time. It makes me feel better that even in one of the (arguably) food capitals of the world, you can still come across a bum meal. Well, not better, really, but less like, “Why me?!” If it can happen there, why should I be surprised when it happens here? :)

Dang, those eggies look good!

Happy Halloween, Camille (it’s my hands-down favorite holiday. I’m a little odd; or so I’ve been told)!

30 10 2009
Hopie

Looks like a great trip. I just love that last photo of gargoyles.

30 10 2009
croquecamille

Lissa – Definitely worth a weekend trip, especially since it’s only two hours by train!

pastrychef – Those eggies were good. I’m tempted to make some coq au vin just to have leftover sauce for poaching eggs. Now who’s a little odd? Happy Halloween to you, too!

Hopie – I was so delighted when I noticed they were all facing downward, I made Nick take several pictures, none of which quite do it justice… but you get the idea. :)

1 11 2009
Ann Mah

Beautiful, Camille. Oeufs meurette is one of my favorite classic dishes. I first read about it in Julia Child MTAOFC and first ate it at la Fontaine de Mars on a trip to Paris long before I ever dreamed I’d live here. All this to say, no, I don’t think it’s odd to make dual-purpose coq au vin! ;)

1 11 2009
jocelyneatsfresh

I love all of the pictures … most of that food looks absolutely beautiful

2 11 2009
croquecamille

Ann – Thanks for the encouragement! I have recently come into possession (ok, spent all day simmering) some veal stock, so it may have to be boeuf Bourguignon. Life’s rough sometimes. :)

jocelyn – Thank you!

20 11 2009
Shreeyash

Great to see your blog. Hope you are enjoying Paris. I’m an old family friend, Yashica Palshikar’s big brother. Hope you have a great ex-pat thanksgiving in Paris.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

