A Triumph

21 10 2009

It’s actually been pretty fun at work this week.  I haven’t said that in a year and a half, and I was afraid I never would.  We’ve been trying out new recipes for the bûches de Noël for this holiday season.  Not only do I like experimenting in the kitchen for the way it breaks up the general work routine, but this year I have been included in the proceedings.  As in, asked for my opinions and for any ideas I might have in the way of new bûche flavor combinations.

I really wanted to do a chocolate/banana/peanut butter thing, but I know better than to get too wacky (i.e. American) with this crowd.  So I Frenchified the idea, swapping in praliné mousse for the peanut one.  I ordered some bananas and when they were good and ripe I sliced up a couple and sautéed them with butter, raw sugar, and rum.  The chef found an intriguing recipe for a banana biscuit, so we tried it, and it’s delicious.  I put a sample of the cake together today, and when we tasted it, we knew we had a winner on our hands.  So just like that, my creation is going to be produced and sold this Christmas and New Year’s.  If you live in Paris, I highly recommend you come pick one up when the time rolls around.  (Or better yet, reserve one in advance.  I’ll let you know the details at a later date.)

Oh, and a quick reminder to click over to Foodie Fights and vote for me in Battle Cumin and Pecan!

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

7 responses

22 10 2009
Lissa

do let me know when i can order one. i’m totally in!! sounds delicious.

22 10 2009
Hopie

Oooh sounds good to me too. And D.’s going to DIE for that combination.

22 10 2009
D.K.

I am dying.

24 10 2009
Ann Mah

Yay! I’m so thrilled you got to a little experimenting and I can’t wait to taste your creation! Chapeau!

27 10 2009
croquecamille

Thanks, everyone!

29 10 2009
Rhonda

I bet the praline is even better than peanut butter. The bisquite I love. You must share that recipe! I have one with ground banana chips.

29 10 2009
croquecamille

Rhonda – It’s from a book by Frédéric Bau, who trained with Pierre Hermé, and involves swirling caramelized banana puree over a very moist biscuit before baking. It not only tastes like banana bread, but it looks cool, too! I’ll email you the recipe this weekend.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

