Miel de Corse

24 09 2009

One of Corsica’s largest crops is the chestnut.  As such, they feature prominently in dishes both sweet (cakes, candied chestnuts) and savory (various breads, a type of “polenta”), as well as in the local liqueurs.  Much of the chestnut harvest is dried and ground into flour, which has been granted a.o.c. status.  Another Corsican chestnut-based treat with the privileged status is honey.

Organic chestnut honey from Corsica

The stuff is, quite frankly, wonderful.  It has a rich, nutty aroma with floral undertones, all of which carry through on the palate.  I’ve been using it to sweeten my green tea, but I’m trying to come up with a recipe that will feature it more prominently.  (My first meeting with chestnut honey was years ago, when I used it in an orange pâte de fruits – a sort of jelly candy – for the restaurant where I worked.  It was one of my (and the chef’s) favorite flavors of jelly, so I made a lot of them, though now that I think about it, I haven’t laid so much as a taste bud on it since then.  But the reunion is going well, like when you run into an old friend and discover that nothing has changed – you can still talk for hours with no awkward silences.)

I also love the artwork on the jar.  The bee is dwarfed by the gigantic, hairy chestnut, and it looks as though he is going to have to battle it in order to get to the sweet flower.  A battle that is well worth it, in my book.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

7 responses

25 09 2009
Hopie

Wow, that is a dramatic label. Can’t wait to see this honey show up in your recipes. It sounds delicious.

25 09 2009
hungry dog

Chestnut honey–I’ve never heard of it! I would love to try it, I wonder if it would be hard to find…

26 09 2009
croquecamille

Hopie – Me, too! :)

hungry dog – The first one I ever used came from Oregon, so you shouldn’t have too much trouble finding some.

26 09 2009
Ann Mah

Have you tried the miel de chataigne chocolates from Jacques Genin? O. M. G. !

I read somewhere that chestnut honey works really well in savory recipes, so that could be another avenue.

28 09 2009
croquecamille

I haven’t, but that Jacques Genin is a hell of a chocolatier! I’ll have to get over there pronto.

29 09 2009
Trisha

The wide world of available honeys is amazing to me. I had no idea as a kid what the possibilities were beyond clover. When my sister lived in Russia, she sent a photo of the incredible array of honeys available at the open-air market (yes, I experienced a twinge of sibling jealousy at her good fortune).

30 09 2009
croquecamille

Trisha – It’s really cool how much the flavor changes from flower to flower. So much honey, so little time…




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

