Regional French Cuisine: Pays Basque: Piperade

29 05 2009

Basque cooking is pretty much synonymous with peppers.  If you’re in a restaurant in France, and a dish is described on the menu as “à la basquaise,” it will probably be covered in bell peppers.  (Seeing as I am not exactly a bell pepper lover, this can be disappointing.)  Piperade is the name for a mixture of sautéed peppers and onions, usually seasoned with piment d’espelette and often involving eggs and/or ham.  Sounds like a pretty great breakfast to me, especially if I can swap out the bell peppers for my much-loved piquillos.

The beginning stages of piperade

Faced with yet another bunch of white asparagus from the CSA panier, I remembered a post by Mark Bittman in which he finally finds a way to enjoy the overpriced, underwhelming vegetable.  It involved peeling and cooking the hell out of them and then smothering them in a “broken hollandaise” of sorts.  I thought that some creamy, slow-cooked scrambled eggs would fit the bill, and the piperade would be the icing on the cake, so to speak.

S-L-O-W-L-Y scrambling eggs

I mean, we all know how great asparagus and eggs are together, right?  Now, if you’ll allow me, I have a short diatribe about scrambled eggs.  Don’t even think about cooking them all the way through.  Scrambled eggs should be smooth and creamy as well as fluffy.  They should never be dry.  Those cottony diner scrambled eggs with the browned bits and phony lard flavoring (or maybe it’s just rancid) turn my stomach.  The absolute best only way to cook scrambled eggs is VERY SLOWLY.  Over low heat.  In butter or olive oil.  Stirring constantly.  I mean it.  These are not a weekday morning project, that’s what fried eggs are for.  Oh, it’s going to take patience.  And time.  A whole lot of precious time.

Perfect!

Well, 25 minutes or so, anyway.  But it is time very well spent.  (And, as luck would have it, about the same amount of time it takes to steam white asparagus into submission.)

Brunch is served

Topped with a mound of soft-set piperade scrambled eggs, the white asparagus were indeed tolerable.  Good, even.  Although I can’t help but to think how much better it would be with green asparagus.  Or a few slices of cured ham, like a regionally appropriate jambon de Bayonne.  But then, what isn’t?

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 05 2009
lickedspoon

Oh, I so agree with you about scrambled eggs. It’s the food of the gods when cooked properly, slooooowly, and yet so often it’s not and it’s horrible. This looks like a delicious weekend brunch recipe, especially with the Bayonne ham. Mmmmm.

31 05 2009
Melissa

I understand about the eggs! I’ve read quite a bit online and in cookbooks about slow cooked creamy eggs. I still haven’t MADE them, haha, but at least I know better for when I do. Yours look exactly as I imagined. Delicious!

31 05 2009
croquecamille

lickedspoon – It’s a shame how many eggs are wasted on bad scrambled eggs. And Bayonne ham pretty much makes everything better, doesn’t it?

Melissa – I urge you to try them this way. You may never go back to the quick scrambled egg. :)

31 05 2009
justalittlepiece

Love asparagus; love bell peppers. Sounds like a trip to the farmer’s market.

justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

2 06 2009
croquecamille

‘Tis the season!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

