French Easter Chocolates

10 04 2009

While American children content themselves with hunting for dyed eggs and chocolate Easter Bunnies, French children (and probably some adults) have their choice of a myriad of elaborate chocolate sculptures. 

Oeuf Dentelle - Lace Egg

All the chocolateries in town are decked out for the holiday, with  many dozens of chocolate eggs, fish (?), chickens, and whatever other chocolate shapes struck the chocolatier‘s fancy.

Mr. Egg Head here looks a little worried about his future.

At work, we’ve had the chocolate melters (like industrial-strength chafing dishes) going nonstop for weeks now.  The new chocolate walk-in has been loaded up with half-eggs, bird parts, and other bits and pieces to be glued together with more chocolate to produce montage after edible montage.

Yes, those are bunny heads sticking out of phallic carrot cars.

So here are some pictures of the fruits of my labor over the last month or so.  This week has been long, putting the finishing touches on the chocolate sculptures in time for Easter.  (This is the part where I apologize for the crappy pictures – they were taken in haste, at work, while trying not to get too much chocolate on my camera.)  When I was making the Bunny-in-Car pieces, I was roundly criticized for putting the names of cities like Boston and Sydney on the road signs, because you can’t drive to those places.

Remember Les Schtroumpfs?  Here’s what became of them:

La la lalalala la la la la la

While making these, my colleague made a remark along the lines of, “There are so many schoolchildren who would love to be in our place right now.”  True.  Not exactly why I went into the pastry field.

Manège à Moi

I also put together the above carousels, and sculpted the arms of the octopi below, both of which I’m sure would make great projects for Arts and Crafts class.

Poulpe ou Pieuvre?

There’s really only one montage of all the ones we’ve made that I would consider buying.

How many carats can one egg hold?

I guess I’m just a sucker for sparkly things.  (And no, they’re not real diamonds – they’re sugar.)

Frankly, I think I speak for everyone at work when I say I’m SICK of Easter chocolates.  But at least now its over.  Happy Easter weekend, dear readers!

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

12 responses

11 04 2009
Kim - Easy French Food

Who says you can’t drive to Sydney? It all depends on where you start from doesn’t it? Your sculptues are great – don’t know how you can bear to watch anyone eat them. For anyone not so ambitious, but craving a little French something try this chocoalate truffle recipe.

11 04 2009
Hopie

Ooh, I definitely agree about the sparkly ones! So pretty! Happy Easter :-)

11 04 2009
Ann @ Cooking the Books

Oooh… French Easter chocolate really is the best, especially the little eggs filled with praline (much better than peanut butter). Did you know all the little chocolate-shaped fish are called “friture”? Just like the plates of mixed fried fish you get at the seaside. Isn’t that cute?

11 04 2009
Betty C.

Very creative, these French chocolates at Easter. My daughters were never into them, though.

I haven’t been keeping up with my food blogging but am still out there on my other blogs.

Happy Easter!

11 04 2009
Sam

Imlove them all especially the octopus! It’s different that’s for sure!

11 04 2009
onlinepastrychef

Were those bunnies driving carrot cars?! That is great! Too cute, but I can Entirely Understand why you’re happy to be seeing the back-side of Easter–that’s a lot of chocolate “craft work” going on! Happy Easter to you:)

12 04 2009
croquecamille

Kim – Exactly. And the trick is not to watch anyone eat them. :) I send them to the boutique downstairs and never see them again. Except for the ones that get broken, which I spent a chunk of Saturday morning salvaging.

Hopie – Happy Easter to you, too… next week.

Ann – I love praline, too. I learned about “friture” at Christmas, when I was given a stack of little Santa and tree molds and told to make the friture. I must have looked as confused as I felt, because the explanation followed very shortly.

Betty – I think the traditional American Easter preparations are a little more fun for kids – dyeing eggs, the hunt… while the French stuff is a little less interactive. Pretty, though.

Sam – The octopus was the boss’ pet project this year. He was very proud of himself for having come up with it. :)

pastrychef – They are, indeed! Yes, crafts are fun, but not for a month straight. I commented to one of my colleagues that if I wanted to do this kind of thing every day, I would have been a grade school art teacher. Easter is happier than ever this year.

13 04 2009
Jackie @ PhamFatale.com

Awww I miss France…

13 04 2009
Cathy - wheresmydamnanswer

Those are so DAMN impressive – WOW love them!!

13 04 2009
Trisha

Really amazing. I had way too much chocolate yesterday, but this has me wanting more. Though I can’t blame you for being tired of it! Thanks for sharing!

14 04 2009
croquecamille

Jackie – I’m sure I will, too, when I leave.

Cathy – Thank you!

Trisha – Anytime! :)

18 04 2009
Nina

Google maps thinks you can drive from Boston(MA)!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

