One More Cheese From Savoie…

31 03 2009

Before I let go of the cheesy, meaty sumptuousness that is Savoyard cuisine.

A tasty slice of Morbier on a chunk of bread

Remember when I went to the Salon Gastronomique and tasted the best Morbier ever?  Well, I’m finally writing a few words about it.  Morbier is a highly aromatic (that’s a nice way of saying smelly) cheese, and the telltale stripe of ash through the center can be off-putting at first, but the cheese itself is rich, smooth, and nutty, with just a hint of sourness on the finish to balance it out.  Absolutely delicious.  It has AOC status and an interesting story behind the ash: once upon a time, the cheese was covered with ash at the end of the day in order to prevent it from forming a rind overnight.  The next day, more cheese curds were added to finish the wheel and the whole thing was washed.  I guess they have other ways of keeping the rind from forming now, but the distinctive look of the Morbier was set.

(Just read on the official Morbier website that only cheeses from Doubs and Jura in the Franche-Comté region have AOC status.  All I know is, the guy at the salon said his cheese was from Savoie, and that it was delectable.  Sorry for the confusion.)

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 04 2009
A chicette in Paris

Wow! I will look for that cheese!! Thanks!!

xoxo

http://www.chicsetera.com

1 04 2009
onlinepastrychef

Hi there, smelly cheese! I’ve never had Morbier, but I love cheese w/ash. I’m not really sure if I can detect a flavor, but I do love the look. Love Humboldt Fog, as well:)

2 04 2009
Jessica

The ash is not off putting to me! And God knows I love a good smelly cheese. I’ll have to see if my cheese dealer carries this one.

2 04 2009
croquecamille

chicette – You’re welcome!

pastrychef – Humboldt Fog is great. You should be able to find Morbier at well-stocked cheese departments (like Whole Foods).

Jessica – I love that you have a cheese “dealer!” The first taste is free, right?




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

