Winter Vegetable Mystery Box

5 03 2009

Back in my culinary school days, we used to get at least one “mystery box” assignment per term.  I always kind of enjoyed them, because it required me to come up with something beautiful and delicious on the fly, without relying on specific recipes.  (Of course, sometimes it was stressful, like when I drew strawberries, chocolate, and mint, plotted out an elaborate dessert, and then went to the walk-in only to discover that there were no strawberries!  Luckily, blueberries made an easy substitution.) Anyway, I like to think of my CSA panier as a weekly, stress-free mystery box.  So far, I’d say it’s been working out pretty well.

The layered look

One of the more esoteric vegetables we’ve been getting lately is the topinambour, or Jerusalem artichoke.  These knobbly tubers have the look of dark pink or purplish overgrown ginger roots.  I took the time to peel them the first time I cooked them, then determined (with a little help from my friend, Joël Robuchon) that it wasn’t worth the effort.  After baking them into a savory clafoutis and puréeing them into a spicy curried soup, a box of unused lasagna noodles idling on the shelf inspired me to try a topinambour lasagna.  Fresh béchamel sauce, sautéed leeks (also from the panier), some grated Comté, and a handful of toasted pine nuts completed the picture.

Topinambour lasagna

You know you’ve done something right when you tell your husband “We’re having the same thing we had for dinner last night,” and the response is, “Oh, cool!”

* * * * *

Speaking of CSAs, I have written another article for Secrets of Paris, this time about some of the various organic produce delivery options available in Paris.  The information should be useful for residents and visitors alike!

Greenmarket Alternatives

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 03 2009
Trisha

Gorgeous! Especially those toasty pine nuts, and the golden, bubbly Comté. I have never received a Jerusalem artichoke (how did it end up with that name, anyway?) in my produce ‘panier’, but I’ve always hoped to. I ought to just go out and buy one.

6 03 2009
Hopie

Oh man, I want more of those! We only got them once and I made some grated and sautéd with sage butter, and then some went into a blue cheese gratin, mmm.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

