When in Alsace…

23 02 2009

You absolutely MUST eat in at least one winstub.  This should not be a problem, given the sheer preponderance of them in the towns of the region.  I think we would have been hard pressed to eat three meals in Strasbourg without at least one of them being in a winstub.

The sign outside Chez Yvonne

We found ourselves ensconced in the cozy warmth of Chez Yvonneon Sunday night.  In business since 1873, the place was touted by our guidebook as a “classic among classics.”  Since we were looking for an authentic taste of Alsace, that sounded just about right.  Chez Yvonne is located at the end of a cute little side street (if the town seems to consist mainly of tiny side streets, do they cease to be side streets?), and, like many of the establishments we visited in Strasbourg, has a heavy curtain inside the door to keep out the cold.

Brains or brawn?  I choose brawn.

As we stepped in the door, I said something to Nick about how I hoped they had red-checked tablecloths (that being one of Alec Lobrano’s barometer readings indicating a good restaurant, and this seemed like the sort of place where they would be right at home).  They didn’t, but I think the brightly colored, ornately patterned linens were even better.  Upon being seated, the smiling waitress brought us a small dish of head cheese cubes.  They somehow managed to be both toothsome and tender enough to melt in your mouth.  Another hint that we would be dining well that night.  We ordered a couple of glasses of crémant d’Alsace (the local sparkling wine) as our apéritif, and toasted the meal to come.

When I saw foie gras crème brûlée on the menu, there was no question as to what I would be ordering for my first course.

Two of my very favorite things - foie gras and crème brûlée

It was served with a thick slice of fig and hazelnut bread, which complemented the rich, savory-sweet cream perfectly.  Nick went for the herring, which came napped in a delicate cream sauce.

Another classic of the Alsatian repertoire

He cleaned his plate and we eagerly anticipated our main courses, accompanied by a bottle of Sylvaner, a dry Alsatian white wine.  I couldn’t pass up the choucroute garnie, and my plate arrived piled high with some of the tastiest sauerkraut I’ve ever had, surrounded by half a dozen different pork products.  (They take their charcuterie seriously in Alsace.)

Sure, Lisa, one maaaagical animal.

The ham was my favorite – smoky, meaty, tender, and matched to a T with the fermented cabbage.  The rest was no slouch, but I’d be lying if I said I finished everything on the plate.  That’s a lot of pig for one meal.  While reading the menu, I had noticed that they served Coq au Vin.  I thought that was a bit odd, seeing as it’s a dish so closely linked with Burgundy.  But in Alsace, they make it with Riesling!  And serve it with spaëtzle!  It was a done deal for Nick.

Coq au Riesling

A cast iron dish of spaëtzles at Chez Yvonne

The meat was rich and flavorful, and balanced nicely with the creamy white wine sauce.  Spaëtzle, in case you’re unfamiliar, are little dumplings made by drizzling batter into simmering liquid.  The resulting morsels are then sautéed in browned butter and served alongside meats or stews.  These were delicious, especially when swiped through the remains of the riesling sauce.

After such a satiating meal, we weren’t sure if we would have room for dessert, but we looked at the menu anyway.  We were both tempted by the pinot noir-poached prunes with pain d’épices ice cream, so we asked for one, with two spoons.

A lovely finish to a hearty meal.

It was delectable.  The ruby-red poaching liquid was redolent with star anise and cinnamon, which perfumed the pleasantly moelleux prunes.  Perched atop, the gingerbread ice cream offered a beautiful contrast in color and temperature as it melted slowly into the sauce to form a smooth and heady elixir.

So when I tell you that you must eat in a winstub in Alsace, I don’t think there’s any reason to argue, do you?

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

8 responses

23 02 2009
Hopie

Oh, no arguments here after that post. Now I just have to get my butt to Alsace!

24 02 2009
croquecamille

Hopie – Luckily, it’s only a 2-hour train ride! ;)

1 03 2009
Betty C.

Oh this sounds fun. Are they vaguely like the “bouchons” in Lyons?

1 03 2009
croquecamille

Betty – I think one of my guidebooks actually said something along the lines of “the winstub is to Alsace as the bouchon is to Lyon,” so I’d say yes. I guess I should get to Lyon and see for myself!

3 03 2009
jodycakes

You had me at Foie Gras creme Brulee…was it just AWESOME????

3 03 2009
croquecamille

You know it! :)

17 04 2009
Patricia

Good job on the Strasbourg trip, I live in Strasbourg and I must say, had you asked me beforehand where to go and what to eat, it basically would have been the same as what you did! The prunes at Chez Yvonne are so amazing, I’ve only had them once but I really must go back! There are lots more traditional dishes to try if you are ever back in Alsace (Backeoffe, jambonneau, bibelakas) and there is a wonderful restaurant in Munster called Caveau des Macaires where you can get a menu that has munster in every dish (including the dessert). Yum!

17 04 2009
croquecamille

Thank you, we loved it! That munster restaurant sure sounds tempting…




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

