Housekeeping and Mystery Pods

21 01 2009

Don’t you just love it when you put on a pair of jeans you haven’t worn in a while and find a 5 (or 10 or 20) dollar (or euro or whatever) bill in the pocket?  Well, last weekend I dusted off a purse I haven’t used in a while and found these inside:

Why yes, that is my super cute Freddy & Ma purse.  Thanks for asking!

They have the same feel as dried vanilla beans, and the one I broke open yielded some small black seeds and a mildly peppery smell.  The only other clue is this card that I most likely picked up on my last visit to l’Atelier de Joël Robuchon.

It can't possibly have been almost 8 months since I've used this bag!

Anybody have any idea what they might be?

* * * * *

In other news (if you can call it that, considering how long I’ve taken to getting around to writing about it), I have been honored with two more awards!

First, from all the way back in November, The Yum-Yum Blog Award.

The Yum-Yum Blog Award

This was given to me by Hope, whose own blog is unfailingly yummy.  I have decided to pass it along to the blog with the most recently flagged recipe in my Google Reader.  And the award goes to…

For her homemade ricotta recipe, Apples and Butter!

Honorable mention goes to Chez Loulou, because I’m cooking this tonight.

More recently, though still almost a month ago, I received another Brillante Weblog award from the fabulous women of Where’s My Damn Answer?

Brillante Weblog Award

I want to give this to my friend Kat, who has just left on a year-long adventure in the South Seas.  She started a blog, Kat’ch Me If You Kan, to chronicle her travels.  It’s very new, but I’m certainly enjoying it so far, and I hope she keeps it up!

Speaking of housekeeping, I’d better get started on dinner.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

16 responses

21 01 2009
Cathy - wheresmydamnanswer

Your timing on this is great – I just pulled out a jacket I had not worn in a while and well was reminded by the date on a receipt in the pocket just how long it had been since I had pulled it out of the closet!

You deserve the award you have a wonderful site !!

22 01 2009
Jessica

Congrats on your awards! I have no idea what it is you pulled out of your purse, but I can’t wait to find out!

22 01 2009
Loulou

Thanks for the mention.
So, what did you think of the savory Clafoutis? I’m curious because it had a really unique flavor.

22 01 2009
Reuben Morningchilde

Mhh…. These pods look a little like carob pods (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carob_tree) to me, just that they’re not flat but round… But the rather meaty shell and the colour reminds me strongly of them. If they (the shells, not the seeds) smell a little sweet / spicy /peppery and feel a little sticky at the broken edge, I’d guess it’s some type of carob…

23 01 2009
katticus

Thanks very much Camille :-) Appreciate the comments and I will do my utmost to keep it up as best I can!!

23 01 2009
Brandy

tamarind pods!

23 01 2009
Anouk C

Yeah they look like tamarind.

23 01 2009
Efthimia

Carob might be the case. The size is that of a very ripe pod that has fallen off the tree. I’ve heard that carob powder is used to thin cocoa powder in large chocolate factories, but I guess it has all sorts of uses in the art of making desserts.

23 01 2009
Veronica

I thought they looked like carob as well, but I’ve never seen tamarind pods. Aren’t they a bit small? http://wheredidmysaucego.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/carob-tree/ This is a dried carob.

23 01 2009
kayce.

looks like tamarind.

23 01 2009
kayce.
23 01 2009
Drake

I agree; they look like tamarind, although the tamarind at the Asian market I normally go to looks smoother & more of a cinnamon colour.

23 01 2009
Veronica

Maybe they are very old and deformed because of it? They do look like something between carob and tamarind. Maybe it’s a hybrid ;-)?

23 01 2009
croquecamille

Wow, thanks for all the responses. I am familiar with tamarind, and I know it’s not that. As for carob, they are not sticky at all, but that could be because they are old and dried out. Also, I think they may be too small. They are about 1.25 inches or 3.5 centimeters long.

Love the enthusiasm so far – let’s solve this mystery!

p.s. Loulou – We loved it! I added some almond meal and just mixed the cheese right in. I foresee more savory clafoutis in the near future!

26 01 2009
Jessica

Look like tamarind – although a bit small.

27 01 2009
Marilyn

I just happened upon your photo and also just happened to have posted a recipe for carob cake on my blog: http://marilyferecipes.blogspot.com/2009/01/tu-bshevat-carob-sheet-cake-with-carob.html

The carob pods in your photo look more dried up than the ones in mine, which are about a year old. If yours are sticky, they are more likely to be tamarind, which I first tasted at an exotic fruit park in Hollywood, Florida.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

