Stranded on a Desert Island…

22 10 2008

…with only 5 non-native ingredients!  Hope tagged me with this little exercise in restraint a while back, and I have probably WAY overthunk it by now.  The rules are as follows:

You are stranded on a desert island for an indefinite amount of time.  You can bring along five food items and are allowed one sentence to justify your decision.  It is an island so assume plentiful fish, coconuts, and sea salt.  Storage is not an issue, as you also have a large solar powered refrigerator.  Play along, tag who you want, and link back!

My thought process was long and convoluted.  The pastry chef in me insists on sugar and flour, but then I think that maybe I can figure out a way to get palm sugar out of the trees.  Luckily I like coconut, and coconut water is such a refreshing drink.  Then I start thinking about savory foods, and the ingredients that I use the most.  Onions and bacon immediately spring to mind.  Not sure I can live without tomatoes, and then it occurs to me that I need dairy!  What would I do without butter, cream, and cheese?  Though maybe I should be thinking about what goes well with fish.  Chili peppers and lime for ceviche and fish tacos?  Where am I going to get tortillas, though?  Got to have a starch, then, too.  Potatoes and rice are both so good and versatile.  Is bread allowed?  I’m really digging on winter squash lately, but that happens every year around this time.  I might get tired of it if it was all I had.  And it went on like that for several days.

At long last, I have settled on my list.  (Ask me next week and it could be completely different.)

1. Onions – Can’t cook without them, plain and simple.

2. Cream – So many uses on its own, plus it can be turned into butter or cheese!

3. Smoky, peppery bacon – It’s great with seafood, and a life without hog fat may not be worth living.

4. Potatoes – They’re just so much more comforting than rice.

5. Eggs – Fried, baked, boiled, scrambled, deviled, meringue, sabayon, hollandaise…  Mustard seeds – That way I could make my own mustard as well as grow some delicious greens!

Judging from my final list, I’d say France is the right place for me.

Now for the tags.  Cathy and Jody from Where’s My Damn Answer? because they visit often and leave comments, which I love.  Gloria from Cookbook Cuisine, because she posed a similar question a while back.  And Trisha from The Zest, because I think she’s a pretty creative cook.  Of course, feel free to play along even if I didn’t tag you, and for those of my readers without blogs, I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

8 responses

22 10 2008
Colleen

I’d forgo the mustard, as you could definitely forage for some greens on-island. Most fruits and veggies could also be somehow procured..I’m thinking lost and gilligan’s island here, and they always seem to have lots of mangoes and bananas, etc. around. So I think if you’re going to grow something, I’d vote for cacao beans. i.e., chocolate!

23 10 2008
Cathy - wheresmydamnanswer

Thanks for the Tag and the shout out – We do love your site and enjoy playing with our favorite French Foodie!!
Game on – Hmmmm will be breaking out a bottle of wine and work on this fun homework assignment….Thanks for the Tag
Cheers
Cathy

23 10 2008
Hopie

You ARE in the right place! Good thing you live in Paris ;-) Although I don’t know how you forgo hot peppers!!

23 10 2008
Gloria

Hi Camille,

Thanks for the tag. It really helps you choose what your favorite foods are! Come on over and visit my blog. I have an award for you. :)

24 10 2008
Cathy - wheresmydamnanswer

Mission Accomplished post is up – This was a lot of fun and really does make you think that is for sure!! Have a great weekend

24 10 2008
Trisha

Thanks for the tag! This is sure to be a challenge… thinking, thinking… Enjoyed your list, and I agree with you about potatoes being more comforting than rice.

Would I be allowed to bring my own chickens, so I don’t have to bring eggs? Ha.

25 10 2008
croquecamille

Colleen – Now that you mention it, cacao is a tropical crop, so it may well already be there!

Hopie – It was a tough call, but I’m hoping the pepper on the bacon and the mustard will take care of my spice craving.

Gloria – You’re welcome, and thank you!

Cathy (and Jody) – I love that both of you brought wine! Can I come, too?

Trisha – I don’t see why not. ;)

28 10 2008
jodycakes

Of course, you can come!!! think it would be great to have company on a deserted island!!! Wine, fun and friends…no matter where ya are!! :)

I had fun trying to think of things…wine was a no brainer…:)




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

