Potiron-Piquillo Soup

20 10 2008

Well, Fall is officially upon us.  The guys with the makeshift grills who sell corn on the cob all summer have switched over to chestnuts.  Winter squash are starting to show up in the market, and despite the gorgeous sunshine, there is a distinct nip in the air.  Soup is definitely in order these days.

A light Fall supper

Hope over at Hopie’s Kitchen has been regaling her readers with tales of her awesome organic farm share basket.  If there’s a best time of year to belong to one of these, I think Fall is it.  Anyway, she posted a delicious-looking Butternut Squash and Roasted Red Pepper Soup a little while ago, and I wanted to make it, despite the fact that I am not, in general, a fan of bell peppers.  Upon reflection, I thought, wouldn’t it be good with the sweet smokiness of charred piquillo peppers?

Charring piquillo peppers - it's the fire that makes it good.

Never being one to leave recipes alone, I also decided to use a hunk of potiron (a type of pumpkin with very thick flesh and much more flavor than the kind used to make Jack O’ Lanterns) instead of the butternut squash.  I roasted it in the oven until it was soft, then scooped out the flesh and added it to my already-simmering pot of onions, piquillos, and chicken stock.  I seasoned the soup with salt, pepper, cayenne, nutmeg, and the tiniest hint of cinnamon – just enough to bring out the warm sweetness of the potiron.  After simmering it all for about 10 minutes, I busted out the hand blender.

Ah, the hand blender.  Is there anything it can't do?

Wearing my new favorite T-shirt, I fearlessly buzzed the soup, knowing that the pot was deep enough to contain any splatters that might occur.

My #1 favorite luxury kitchen gadget

It’s no secret how much I love the immersion blender.  Making puréed soups that much easier is just the tip of the iceberg.  It’s great for milkshakes, and it even manages to stand in for a food processor on some occasions.  But I digress.

Once the soup was nice and smooth, I returned it to a simmer and tasted for seasoning.  After making the appropriate adjustments, I finished it with a swirl of cream to mellow and blend the flavors.  Perfect!  That’s when I spied the pine nuts on the shelf.  I knew they would be what sent this soup over the top, so I quickly toasted a handful in a skillet while I sliced strips of the remaining piquillo pepper for garnish.

The finished masterpiece

And wouldn’t you know it – I was right!  The soup on its own was great: Deep pumpkin flavor and smoky-sweet peppers made a fabulous partnership.  But the toasty crunch of the pine nuts provided textural contrast to the smooth soup and brought it all into focus.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

6 responses

21 10 2008
Hopie

Oooh, I’m happy to have inspired such a delicious-looking soup! Looks perfect for this weather, especially since today the sun has gone away and it’s just cold and rainy!

21 10 2008
croquecamille

I’m happy you inspired it, too! It is definitely soup weather today.

22 10 2008
Trisha

I’m over-the-moon excited for squash season. I had no idea potiron was a tad different than the traditional pumpkins over here. The soup is a lovely shade, and the pine nuts a fantastic finish.

22 10 2008
croquecamille

Me, too! I’m trying to find as many different kinds as I can at the market, but potiron is certainly the most prevalent.

23 10 2008
Andrea

Holy yum! You’re so creative with your soups! Doesn’t roasting just take everything to the next level? I’m totally with you on the immersion blender worship. It makes life so much easier!

25 10 2008
croquecamille

Thanks! Roasting makes pretty much everything better, I think.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

