Tonight’s Dinner in Real Time

16 10 2008

6:00 pm – Writing emails.  Maybe I should start the beans if I want chili for dinner tonight.

6:10 pm – Beans are on.  Back to obsessing over blog stats.

7:15 pm – Where the hell is Nick?  He left to take pictures of foliage well over an hour ago.  I should probably get the rest of the chili going, at any rate.  S*#%!  The burner was on too low and my beans have just been sitting in hot water for the last hour!

7:22 pm – Nick calls from somewhere in the 19th.  He’s on his way home now that it’s dark.  Really need to start cooking chili.

7:24 pm – Chopping onions, tears in my eyes.  The chili powder in my nose isn’t helping, but is going to be delicious.  Add beef and break it up as it browns, à la Bolognaise.

Browning the beef and onions

7:30 pm – Love the smell of minced garlic hitting a hot pan.

7:31 pm – Rummaging around in the pantry (the fridge isn’t working and the pantry is open to the outside so things stay cool) for the chicken stock.  Damn.  It doesn’t smell good.  Need liquid, quickly.  Beer!

7:32 pm  – Pour some semi-cool Kronenbourg into the pan.  Scrape up fond.  Notice that the beans need liquid and pour some beer in there, too.  Start drinking the remaining beer.

7:35 pm – Don’t tell me we’re out of tomatoes!  Oh, there they are, hiding behind the lemons.  Dump can of tomatoes into chili.

7:37 pm – Was it pasilla chili powder or California that I used before?  Does it matter?  Probably not.  I’ll just put some of each.

7:47 pm – Everything is simmering.  Come up with brilliant idea for blog post.

8:00 pm – Throw beans in pan with meat to cook together.

Come on, we're missing the chili!

8:07 pm – Nick finally makes it home.  He’s jealous of my (now empty) beer.

8:14 pm – Taste.  Definitely salty enough, but is it chili-y enough?  Needs cumin and guajillo powder.  (Nick is my hero for bringing back four kinds of ground dried chilis from the States.)

8:24 pm – Nick suggests I add cayenne.  I start grating the world’s best Cheddar cheese to top the chili.

Another of the spoils from Nick's New World Adventure

8:28 pm – Time to eat.  Hunks of Pain des Amis from Du Pain et Des Idées complete the meal.

Warm, hearty, and satisfying

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

5 responses

16 10 2008
Colleen

Fun post! Did Nick bring the Tillamook from the states also, or do they (wow) have it in Paris? If so, I’m proud and impressed…

17 10 2008
Jody

Mmmm….tillamook. yummy.

Hey, if you ever need chili’s – I’m over here in TX – can send ya some!!!
:)

17 10 2008
croquecamille

Colleen – No, I have yet to see Tillamook in the wild over here – that was hand delivered by Nick.

Jody – Thanks! I appreciate it!

19 10 2008
nererue

I have also been a mad fan of Tillamook since my family used to visit the creamery when we lived in Portland. I currently have two giant blocks of it (sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack) since all the stores around here seem to put it on sale every other week.

20 10 2008
croquecamille

Ah, the Pacific Northwest and its copious, cheap Tillamook cheese!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

