Oops, I Did It Again

23 09 2008

And by “it,” I mean Philly Cheesesteaks.  There were, however, a couple of improvements this time around.  First, we had fresh peppers – both red and green – to add to the sautéed onions.

Look at all those healthy vegetables!

Second, we decided to dice the “cheese” and stir it into the steak and pepper mixture before piling it onto fresh baguettes.  And third, I made corn fritters to go with the cheesesteaks.  Remember that corn salsa I made for the torta salads?  Well, I stirred it up with some flour, baking powder, eggs, butter, and milk and dropped spoonfuls of the stuff into hot peanut oil.

Maybe the best frying action shot I've ever gotten.

When they came out of the oil, they looked like this:

Deep-fried goodness

The batter was actually a little runnier than I would have liked – I’m going to use less egg next time.  As a result, they weren’t terribly crispy, but the flavor was fantastic!  Corn, onions, peppers… what’s not to like?  And they made a smashing side dish to the cheesesteaks.

I've got your 5 servings of vegetables... RIGHT HERE!

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

4 responses

23 09 2008
Colleen

Wow, the sandwich looks like it’d like to try some of those fritters itself- and I don’t blame it. Delightful!

24 09 2008
Florida Bus Dealer

What great pictures. I am headed to kitchen to see if I can whip up something that looks that good. Wish me luck!! lol!

25 09 2008
Hopie

I tagged you over on my blog – but you’re going to have to do it in French ;-) Ok, or pull out your kick-ass translation skills…

Your Philly Cheesesteaks look so yummy! But wait, since when are you eating peppers?

25 09 2008
croquecamille

Colleen – Ha! It does!

FBD – Thanks, and good luck!

Hopie – Maybe I’ll do both… And they’re hot peppers. I eat those. Happily.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

