Happiness is a Warm Doughnut

18 09 2008

So I was browsing Photograzing a little while ago and was attracted like a moth to a flame when I saw the photo of Buttermilk Doughnuts, courtesy of Stephan at This Engineer Can Bake.  You should know by now how much I love buttermilk, be it in fried chicken, chocolate cake, coleslaw, or pancakes.  I haven’t had a doughnut since I arrived in Paris in January, and I suddenly had to have one.  I present the rest of the story as a photo essay.

Very sticky doughnut dough.

Very sticky doughnut dough.

The lineup of potential doughnut cutters.

The lineup of potential doughnut cutters.

The winners and resulting doughnuts.

The winners and resulting doughnuts.

Frying the doughnuts.

Frying the doughnuts.

Glaze ingredients (there was some butter in there, too).

Glaze ingredients (there was some butter in there, too).

glazed, powdered, sugared.

Trio of doughnut holes: glazed, powdered, sugared.

I mean, do you really need me to tell you they rocked?  They’re fresh doughnuts!
Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

14 responses

18 09 2008
writemeg

Those look amazing!

18 09 2008
Stephan

Hi Camille,
You definitely were not the only one drawn in by the doughnuts. Homemade doughnuts are almost indescribably good and something everyone needs to try making. They are much simpler than most people think (as long as you get the proportions right) and are sure to impress guests.

I like the doughnut cutters too. I will have to do that next time and maybe try out some of glazing ideas of my own.

PS: I like the site, I have browsed here before and am very happy to be mentioned.

18 09 2008
Hopie

Oy, you’re a goddess; you make magic in the kitchen! I’m not usually a big doughnut fan, but homemade? Oh yes! Oh and doesn’t that brand of powdered sugar have the most annoyingly inconvenient pour-spout? I can’t seem to find any other brand though!

19 09 2008
Caitlin

Yum. A nun sighs…
At least that’s one way of saying it in French.

19 09 2008
erin

Daddy sugar? Sugar Daddy? Awesome. (And why doesn’t our powdered sugar come in infinitely more useful plastic canisters with a proper lid?)

19 09 2008
croquecamille

Meg – Thanks!

Stephan – I agree, they really aren’t difficult. I think having guests around to help eat them is a grand idea. We ended up eating them all between two of us. Luckily I halved the recipe!

Hope – I know someone with a birthday coming up…

Caitlin – Just like the Réligieuse is a polite version of that pastry’s original name. ;)

Erin – Sugar Daddy indeed! I think the powdered sugar industry devises these things to maximize waste so they can sell more. It’s an evil plot.

20 09 2008
Mr. Cheeseburger 9000

the one on the bottom left looks absolutely delicious. i love doughnuts, especially ones laced with cinnamon sugar. i know paris doesn’t have entenmanns donuts, but if you can find them, wow. there’s a place in the latin quarter that sells malasadas, which are portugese donuts. they look like the ones on the bottom left of the picture . . .they’re super light, almost like a helium balloon.

21 09 2008
Juanito

I’ll be trying these bad boys out this week, I’ve been working on some doughnut recipes for a dessert special for a someday….

I checked here today because I looked on with horror as I checked the doughmonkey site to find that they are closing. Please give my condolences to Rhonda and Michael….this is awful. I went as much as I could (not nearly enough) and its a sore loss for the city. :( :( :( :(

21 09 2008
Betty C.

I rarely eat donuts in the USA, but I have been known to snarf one down when I see them for sale in French bakeries. Homemade ones are delicious — my grandmother (92 years old) still makes them for Halloween.

21 09 2008
croquecamille

Mr. Cheeseburger – (love your name, by the way) I’ll have to keep my eye out for those. These were more cakey, but I love the fluffier, yeast-raised type of doughnuts, too.

Juanito – I know, it’s tragic, isn’t it?

Betty – Me too, at home, I’ll eat a Krispy Kreme every couple of months maybe. But there’s something so alluring about a hot doughnut… That’s so great that you grandmother makes doughnuts for Halloween! Wish we’d had some ladies like her in my neighborhood when I was growing up!

21 09 2008
Andrea

This is a great post! I’m a sucker for buttermilk as well. Also, I haven’t tried veal stock, but it’s officially on the list!

22 09 2008
Trisha

I like your line-up. Been there… It’s a happy thing what buttermilk can do to a crumb.

22 09 2008
croquecamille

Andrea – Glad to hear it!

Trisha – It’s truly a magical ingredient. :)

24 09 2008
Halloween Kids Crafts

Looks amazing. I have never tried buttermilk with anything! Guess I am missing out and need to get on the bus! Will try and let you know!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers

