A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Métro

11 09 2008

I had just gotten off work, and as such, was marginally sweaty and my clothes had spots of praline, chocolate, flour, sugar, and various types of mousse.  I had gone to the market during lunch, so I was carrying two bags: one filled with my dirty jacket, and the other brimming with fresh fruits, vegetables, herbs, and cheese.

I stepped outside to the sight of a garbage truck pulling up in the street, right where I wanted to cross.  While I was walking around it, one of the garbagemen hanging off the back of the truck started talking to me.

Bonjour, Mademoiselle.”

“Uh, bonjour.”  (And by the way, it’s madame.)

T’es charmante.”

Merci.”  (Seriously?  Other than the fact that I’m a woman, what exactly do I have going for me right now?)

He tried to continue the conversation as the truck slowly pulled away and I escaped to the other side of the street.  I guess anyone can look charming to a guy who’s been hauling garbage all day.  If my French was better I might have said something to that effect, but he probably would have interpreted it as flirting, so it’s probably better that I didn’t say anything.

I mean really.  Is the neon green and yellow uniform supposed to attract me?  The smell of hot garbage?  Do garbagemen often try to pick up women while on duty?

Dude, you’re riding on the back of a garbage truck.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

