The Omnivore’s Hundred

15 08 2008

I got tagged with this meme by a non-blogging friend, and I thought it sounded like fun.  If you read this, have a blog, and want to play (it wouldn’t suck if you wanted to mention where you saw this first…), here are the rules:

1) Copy this list into your blog or journal, including these instructions.
2) Bold all the items you’ve eaten.
3) Cross out any items that you would never consider eating.
4) Optional extra: Post a comment at www.verygoodtaste.co.uk linking to your results.

Camille here again.  I’m also putting in links to any posts that relate to these, in case you want a backstory. 
The VGT Omnivore’s Hundred:
1. Venison
2. Nettle tea
3. Huevos rancheros
4. Steak tartare (Not on this visit, but I have tried it here.)
5. Crocodile (does Alligator count?)
6. Black pudding
7. Cheese fondue
8. Carp
9. Borscht
10. Baba ghanoush (I made it myself!)
11. Calamari
12. Pho (Just last week, though not the first time.)
13. PB&J sandwich
14. Aloo gobi
15. Hot dog from a street cart
16. Epoisses (Bought it here, ate it here.)
17. Black truffle
18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes
19. Steamed pork buns
20. Pistachio ice cream
21. Heirloom tomatoes
22. Fresh wild berries
23. Foie gras (Here, and here, and here, and… when am I not eating foie gras?)
24. Rice and beans (Louisiana-style, as an accompaniment to Mexican food, or even like this – I love ‘em!)
25. Brawn, or head cheese
26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper (I use these a lot – cooked and raw.)
27. Dulce de leche
28. Oysters
29. Baklava
30. Bagna cauda
31. Wasabi peas
32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl (No bread bowl on this occasion, unfortunately.)
33. Salted lassi
34. Sauerkraut (Ok, this was homemade shortcut sauerkraut, but it still rockedTwice.)
35. Root beer float
36. Cognac with a fat cigar (Um, don’t plan on eating any cigars… and don’t think I’ve had these two together.)
37. Clotted cream tea
38. Vodka jelly (I think he means jell-o.)
39. Gumbo
40. Oxtail
41. Curried goat
42. Whole insects
43. Phaal
44. Goat’s milk (I eat a ton of goat cheese, does that count?)
45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more
46. Fugu
47. Chicken tikka masala
48. Eel
49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut
50. Sea urchin
51. Prickly pear
52. Umeboshi
53. Abalone
54. Paneer
55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal (Never again!)
56. Spaetzle
57. Dirty gin martini
58. Beer above 8% ABV
59. Poutine
60. Carob chips
61. S’mores
62. Sweetbreads
63. Kaolin (Well, probably – Wiki says it’s used as a food additive/pesticide)
64. Currywurst
65. Durian
66. Frogs’ legs
67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake (I think mekitzi fall into that category, too!)
68. Haggis
69. Fried plantain
70. Chitterlings, or andouillette
71. Gazpacho (This one wasn’t exactly traditional…)
72. Caviar and blini
73. Louche absinthe (Not sure what the “louche” part means, but I’ve had absinthe.)
74. Gjetost, or brunost
75. Roadkill
76. Baijiu
77. Hostess Fruit Pie
78. Snail
79. Lapsang souchong
80. Bellini
81. Tom yum (And here’s my take on tom kha gai.)
82. Eggs Benedict
83. Pocky
84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant.  (Someday…)
85. Kobe beef
86. Hare
87. Goulash
88. Flowers
89. Horse (Inadverdently)
90. Criollo chocolate
91. Spam
92. Soft shell crab
93. Rose harissa (Is this different from regular harissa?)
94. Catfish
95. Mole poblano
96. Bagel and lox
97. Lobster Thermidor
98. Polenta (Oh, yeah, lots.)
99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee
100. Snake

And my final score is: 88 out of 100!  Not bad.  So, how did you do?

Actions

Information

5 responses

17 08 2008
Colleen

Camille, after that food fair post, I’m shocked there are things you would cross off. I mean, especially the whole bugs- you know lobsters, crawdads, and shrimp are the bugs of the sea. Who knows, ants might be tasty!

17 08 2008
Jody

Hi there….I did 89!!!! Yay!!! we’re right up there aren’t we???

Great list…by the way, I love all your trip photees…way cool! I wanna go!!! :)

19 08 2008
croquecamille

Colleen – For some reason, sea-bugs don’t bother me.

Jody – Good for you! And thanks, you should. :)

21 08 2008
Scott

Come on, Camille. Try a bug. You might like it. I ordered a bunch of boxes of Larvets ( http://tinyurl.com/c28nu ) as stocking stuffers last Christmas and everyone who tried them loved them.

21 08 2008
croquecamille

Well, maybe those Mexican spice ones wouldn’t be so bad…




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

