Courgettes aux Herbes de Provence

5 08 2008

Last week I made good on a dinner invite I had extended to Hails of Coffee Helps.  I decided to revisit the pork roast that had been such a hit a few months back, but couldn’t decide on an appropriate vegetable side dish.  I’ll admit I sometimes feel befuddled in the Summer regarding what to do with the bounty of gorgeous vegetables available at the market.  It’s hard to strike a balance when you want to do something new and interesting but don’t want to mess up the perfection that is a ripe tomato, zucchini, or what-have-you. 

So I thought I’d do a simple summer squash sauté with a little garlic and lemon – nothing to overpower the freshness of the squash or compete with the apricot glaze on the pork.  And then, on my way out of the market, I saw these:

Cute little bundles of fresh Herbes de Provence

Fresh herbes de Provence!  Obviously, I had to buy them.  I just knew they would be fantastic with the zucchini I had picked up earlier, not to mention a lovely counterpoint to the fruity pork glaze.  And naturally, I neglected to take any photos.  (Sorry.)  But rest assured the end result was delicious.

So delicious, in fact, that I made a quiche using the same ingredients later in the week.  Using my usual recipe, with garlicky sautéed zucchini in place of the onions, I seasoned the custard with lemon zest and chopped fresh sage, thyme, lavender, and parsley.

You'll notice I finally got a round baking dish

After the quiche came out of the oven, I realized I had forgotten to put the fresh Parmigiano-Reggiano into the custard as intended.  D’oh!  Nevertheless, grating it directly over the top of the baked quiche isn’t a bad way to go.

Provençal Zucchini Quiche

The quiche was fantastic – the herbs and lemon gave the whole thing a feeling of lightness not usually associated with the buttery, eggy, cheesy goodness that is a typical quiche.  Served with a glass of chilled rosé, it made a refreshing summer supper.  It’s amazing how one simple ingredient (in this case, the fresh herbes de Provence) can inspire you to look at your cooking in a new way.  And who knows what it will be next?  I’ll just have to wait and see what the market has in store for me.

Originally published on Croque-Camille.

Actions

Information

5 responses

5 08 2008
Hails

I’m still thinking wistfully about the pork and courgettes… mmm… I’m back to having to cook for myself now, and my simple pasta dishes will never taste the same now that I know just how good home cooking can actually be! :)

Thanks Camille, ’twas a great evening with fantastic food and delightful company!

6 08 2008
Jody

Uh…Yum. That is most excellent. Have never seen the Herbes de provence that wasn’t dried.

You’re one lucky gal!
I am hard pressed to find all the yummy veg I had in SoCal – now that I’m back in stinky ol’ Houston…but there are some farmer’s markets I have to go check out!
Great photos!!!

9 08 2008
croquecamille

Hails – Thank you! It was great to meet you, and I hope we get a chance to do it again – maybe on one of these fabulous housesitting gigs…

Jody – Neither had I, that’s why i had to buy them! And I know what you mean, I myself have made the move from SoCal to Texas. My advice? Learn to appreciate BBQ. :)

11 08 2008
nererue

I am so jealous; those herbs look beautiful and the finished dish gorgeous. The next time I actually have a garden, I’m going to try growing my own herbes de Provence and try this.

12 08 2008
croquecamille

I may never go back to dried, if I can help it.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

