WWPPD?

28 07 2008

Ok, so I realize that as a pop-cultural reference, “What Would ______ Do?” is hideously outdated.  And yet, over the last several weeks, I have developed a mantra using said trite construction.  “What would Paul Prudhomme do?” is something I ask myself on an almost daily basis. 

This makes a certain amount of sense, as one of the formative moments in my decision to go into the culinary arts professionally involved watching a rerun of some TV show in which he cut up a chicken.  He made it look so easy!  The man has obviously butchered a chicken or two in his day.  So it started with butchering chickens.  But the mantra has made its way into other cooking arenas:

“Should I use black pepper, white pepper, or cayenne?  WWPPD?  All three!”

“Do these mashed potatoes need more butter, salt, or cream?  WWPPD?  YES!”

“What is this tomato sauce missing?  WWPPD?  Sugar!”

And so on.  Luckily, in most cases, this results in the chicken getting butchered faster and more efficiently, the seasoning being aggressive but tasty, and the mouthfeel being, well, unctuous (look it up).  All good things, in my book.

So does anyone else have a cooking mantra?  What is it?  I’d love to hear!

Actions

Information

7 responses

29 07 2008
Jason

Mine’s, “Stop being such a chemist,” and reminds me to stop being so anal about measurement volumes and cooking times and such. I used to put my measuring cups on the counter, wait for the liquid to stop moving and measure at the bottom of the meniscus. I’ve slowly become a bit easygoing.

29 07 2008
croquecamille

I assume you use a scale for all your dry ingredients, accurate to three decimal places? ;)

I’ll admit I have similar problems, given the exactitude required in baking and pastry…

30 07 2008
Scott

I thought you’d be more the WWPHD? type.

http://tinyurl.com/6fuot2

30 07 2008
Jody

I’m going to have to think about that next time I bake or make something…never really thought about it.
Thanks for the mantra!!!

31 07 2008
kiran

“What would Camille do?”

31 07 2008
croquecamille

Scott – Obviously, I have a different mantra whe I’m dreaming up desserts. I WILL work there before my tenure in Paris is up.

Jody – You’re welcome!

Kiran – :D

31 07 2008
Pineapple Girl

Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. Yours is wonderful and I love hearing all about life in Paris




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

