The REAL Food Adventure Begins

24 06 2008

I went to work today!  For the first time in 6 months, I dragged myself out of bed at 5 am, put on my scrubs (half the price of ChefWear and at least as durable) and chef’s jacket, wrangled my hair into pigtails and tied on my bandanna.  I ate some cereal, got on the métro, and arrived, ready to work, just before 6:30 am.

I didn’t sleep very well last night – the cocktail of nerves and excitement with a twist of Velib-induced stress and a splash of muggy summer night really hit me hard.

But this morning I managed to channel that nervous energy and was feeling chipper.  I met with Le Patron (the owner/boss), and his 2nd in command.  After fumbling my way through a couple batches of biscuit, I started to get my sea legs back (or in this case, I guess my pastry hands).  Second and I started making mousses and assembling entremets.

At 12:30, everyone stops for lunch.  We are told to be back at 1:30.  A full hour for lunch!  This is unheard of in the food industry in the States.  Gotta love the all-important French lunch hour.  On my way downstairs (yes, the kitchen I’m working in is upstairs, unlike the ovens), I run into Le Patron, who tells me I can choose anything I want from the case for lunch and the girls at the counter will even heat it up for me.  Excellent.  I choose a slice of tomato quiche and it hits the spot.  I get to chatting with some of my new co-workers, who can’t get over how young I look.  (They themselves range in age from 17 to 23, I imagine, so it’s pretty flattering.)

When lunch break is over, my first task is to write “Joyeux Anniversaire” on a cake, using melted chocolate.  I run into Le Patron again on the stairs, and he asks if I was the one who wrote that, and says that it looks really good.  Hooray!  I spend the next hour or so piping mousse into rings, and then it’s time to clean up and go home for the day.

So here I am, tired but feeling good.  I had almost forgotten how great that shower feels after a day in the pâtisserie.  Now I’m on the couch with my feet up, and it’s about time for a hard-earned apéritif.

Santé!

Actions

Information

7 responses

24 06 2008
James

Santé indeed! Congratulations on your new job!

24 06 2008
Kristy Nuttall

Congrats :-D How exciting!!

25 06 2008
Jesse

yay! i hope you still leave time in your day to blog! Your one of my few addictions i feed everyday!

oh PS if you have any extra work visas laying around send them my way! ;)
Im uber jealous of you right now! I belong in Paris!

25 06 2008
kiran

Congrats on your new job (and impressing the boss on the first day)! Hope those 1-hour lunches keep up!

25 06 2008
Colleen

well done camille! can you tell us which bakery you are working at?

25 06 2008
croquecamille

Thanks for the encouragement, everyone! I’ll try to keep up the posting as much as possible – I had one in mind for today, but I fell asleep on the couch instead.

For now, I’m keeping the names of the innocent under wraps. I will say that it is one of the pâtisseries I have written about on this very blog…

26 06 2008
Shruti

Congrats on the new job!!




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

