Glazed Pork Roast

20 05 2008

In case you were wondering, no, I did not make an entire meal out of carrot soup.  It made a great appetizer, though.  I followed it with a glazed pork loin roast.  When I picked up the meat at the butcher, I asked for a half-kilo, or whatever serves two people.  After some light ribbing (pour monsieur et madame, honh honh honh) the butcher handed me a lovely, pre-tied, pork loin roast, perfectly sized for two.  I’ve actually found that this is a pretty good way to buy things around here, instead of stumbling over the numbers in French, I just ask for enough for x number of people.  “Deux personnes” comes out a lot easier than “trois cent cinquante grammes.”

Apricot-Citrus Glazed Pork Roast

Anyway, the dish was incredibly easy to make.  First I mixed the glaze ingredients together in a measuring jug.  This included 1/4 cup each apricot jam, orange-grapefruit juice, and chicken stock.  I punched up the flavor with the juice of 1/2 a lemon, a pinch of white pepper, and a little glug of white wine.

Next I seasoned the roast on all sides with salt and pepper, and Nick seared it beautifully in a little olive oil on the stove.  We then transfered the roast to a baking dish and spooned some of the glaze over it.  It went into the oven to finish cooking while I deglazed the pan with the rest of the glaze mixture.  I let it reduce a bit, to a nice, thick consistency.

Twenty or thirty minutes later I pulled the roast out and let it rest another few minutes before Nick carved it.  I poured the reduced glaze over the slices right in the roasting pan.  The pork, meanwhile, had accumulated some tasty pan juices which combined with the glaze to form an absolutely delicious sauce! 

We came to the conclusion that French pork is less lean than its American counterpart, resulting in juicier, more flavorful meat.  No complaints here.  I served it with a big green salad on the side, so we still felt healthy.  This one is going into the repertoire of quick weeknight meals for sure.

Actions

Information

7 responses

20 05 2008
Colleen

deglazed the glaze? did you rob it of its identity? seriously, that looks delicious. something for us to try out, knowing ryan and his pork loins…

20 05 2008
croquecamille

I highly recommend it. You should have seen us – after we realized that the tastiest sauce was still in the baking dish, we just started dipping cut pieces of pork straight into it! Ah, a romantic dinner à deux. :)

20 05 2008
Jesse

I found your blog today and i was amazed! I would love to hear your story about how you became a expat! I would love to do the same thing!

22 05 2008
Hails

“…instead of stumbling over the numbers in French, I just ask for enough for x number of people. “Deux personnes” comes out a lot easier than “trois cent cinquante grammes.””

This is my favourite Living Abroad tip so far. :) Having now mastered how to count in Estonian, I still get panicky when I have to put all the numbers in the correct order and actually ask for something. This sounds much more plausible!

Thanks for stopping by my blog. And yes, France is on the list for my place of summer residence. At least I have a vague understanding of the language, unlike in my current country. Expect to see me working in an Irish bar or something…!

22 05 2008
croquecamille

Jesse – Thanks! It is certainly an adventure, I’ll tell you that. :)

Hails – Glad I could help!

7 07 2008
Sophie

I’m Sophie, Key Ingredient’s Chief Blogger. We would like to feature this recipe on our blog. Please email sophiekiblogger@gmail.com if interested. Thanks :)

Sophie

5 08 2008
The Back Burner » Blog Archive » Glazed Pork Roast

[...] anyone think it wasn’t an easy dish to prepare, especially after taking a bite. In her blog Croque Camille, she even says that it’s ‘incredibly easy to make’. But how can this be when she [...]




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

