My Favorite Oatmeal Cookies

14 05 2008

One of the positive things that came out of my last trip to La Grande Epicerie was that I found a box of Quaker Oats.  This may not sound very exotic or exciting, but trust me, they aren’t easy to find around here.  Plus, it meant I could finally whip up a batch of oatmeal cookies, which are a perennial favorite of mine.  I generally refer to them as “Heart-Healthy Oatmeal Cookies,” but I don’t want to give anyone the wrong idea.  (My imaginary lawyers are telling me to say that I am not a medical professional and nobody should take diet or health advice from me.)  I call them that because they contain oats, a heart-healthy (or at least they are currently believed to be so) ingredient.  I figure that at least counteracts some of the butter and sugar.  Well, I like to tell myself that in order to justify eating about 5 cookies a day until the batch is exhausted.

Heart-Healthy Oatmeal Cookie Dough

I am an oatmeal cookie purist: no nuts, no chocolate, no cinnamon, and absolutely no raisins, under any circumstances.  I know of an awesome variation from the perfectionists over at Cook’s Illustrated with dried cherries, pecans, and dark chocolate which is decadently delicious, but I can eat mine for breakfast without feeling guilty.  As for the specific recipe, I use the same one I’ve made with my Mom dozens, if not hundreds, of times.  It’s from the Quaker Oats box, but I make a couple of changes/clarifications to their recipe:

1. The salt is NOT optional.  (This could, in fact, be the single most important cooking rule there is.  Apologies to those on low-sodium diets, but it’s true.  The right amount of salt makes everything taste better.)

2. Use butter, not margarine.  Preferably unsalted, so you can add the salt yourself.  I like to use larger-grained salt for these cookies so that every now and then you get an almost savory bite, enhancing the butterscotch-y sweetness of the brown sugar.

3. Rotate the cookie sheet halfway through the baking time.  This ensures even browning.  By rotate I mean, “using oven mitts pick up the pan and turn it on the horizontal plane 180 degrees.”  (Not, as a friend of mine misinterpreted once, “using a spatula, flip each cookie over.”)

Oatmeal Cookies

That’s about it.  I use parchment paper to line my sheet pan.  You can keep reusing it until all the cookies are baked, and it makes the cleanup a lot easier.  If you don’t have parchment, don’t sweat it.  An ungreased cookie sheet works just as well.

While they may not qualify as heart-healthy, they are still a much better-for-you snack than a lot of other things you could be eating.  So go on, have two!

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 05 2008
Tiffany

I love oatmeal cookies! I’ve been very adventurous lately by baking the Whole Foods boxed mix (I add chocolate chips), but perhaps I’m ready for an actual recipe! Your tips and a Quaker Oats box sound pretty doable… Definately simpler than your “quick and easy” pork loin which requires deglazing a pan (whatever that means!)
Hope you two are good!
Tiff

25 05 2008
croquecamille

You can do it! As for the deglazing, it’s just a fancy way of saying “pour liquid into pan and scrape up any delicious browned bits from the bottom.”




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 317 other followers

