Happy Cinco de Mayo!

5 05 2008

While this is not a popular holiday in France (in case you didn’t know, it’s a celebration of the Mexican victory over the occupying French troops in 1862), I’d still like to commemorate the occasion by sharing my recipe for Guacamole.  It came together last summer when my fridge was full of leftovers from a recent party I had hosted.  I actually had all these ingredients on hand, but it turns out that they are all really easy to make, and the guac was so tasty that I have gone out of my way on several occasions since to replicate it.

Great Grilled Guacamole

 

2 ripe avocados, diced

5 cloves roasted garlic, mashed or pressed through garlic press

1 ear of corn, shucked and grilled

1 poblano pepper, roasted whole on the grill

Salt to taste

Juice of 1/2 lime

 

1. Combine avocado, salt, lime juice, and garlic in a bowl with a fork.  Mash together until desired texture is achieved.  (I prefer it a little chunky.)

 

2. Cut the kernels off the corn cob and add them to the guacamole.

 

3. Peel the charred outer skin from the pepper (try wetting your fingers if you’re having a hard time).  Remove the core and seeds, cut the pepper into strips, and dice.  Add to the bowl.

 

4. Stir it all together, taste, and adjust seasoning with salt and more lime juice, if desired.  Serve immediately.

The sweetness and crunch of the corn combined with the smoky heat of the peppers and the touch of mellow roasted garlic makes for a real treat.  Of course it is great with tortilla chips, but it also makes a delicious topping for fajitas and a flavorful addition to tostadas or other Mexican-inspired salads.

A friend of mine who is a fiend for that smoky “barba-grilled” flavor, suggested I try grilling the avocados as well.  I haven’t yet attempted this, but if anyone tries it, I’d love to hear how it comes out.

Meanwhile, I’m going to keep my eyes open for some kind of grilling mechanism that will fit on the ledge outside my kitchen.

Update: For some thoughts on the best way to choose avocados, click here.

Actions

Information

5 responses

5 05 2008
Robert

Hey! You wanna know what else goes great with Cinco de Mayo besides chips and salsa?? Latin Music!The best I can suggest goes by the name of Trio Caliente.
http://www.triocaliente.com

Their music is festive and full of energy. If you’re having any celebrations today bump their single “Baila Me”
HAPPY Cinco de Mayo!!!!!!

5 05 2008
Sareena

My husband, the lovely Mr. Nuñez is making a tinga de pollo and his version of his native El Paso’s Chico’s Tacos. The kids will be partaking in Jarritos and we’re skipping Mexican beer and having Shiner Bock instead.

6 05 2008
croquecamille

Mmmm… chicken tinga. Sounds great! Some people like Shiner (calling it “bock” is a travesty for beer snobs such as myself), but I’ll take Negra Modelo any day.

6 05 2008
dish

Sounds lovely. I love all things grilled! Hope you guys had a fun night….

7 05 2008
croquecamille

Thanks! You, too.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

